Yeah, what she said…

A few days ago, I had the great fortune to happen upon a blog post that explains incredibly well some things that I have been trying to explain to people for years, and explains those things far better than I could even if I didn’t go inarticulate with fury sometimes when dealing with would-be authors who insist that ‘grammer dont matter cos i write wat i FEEL  lol!!!’  (Why these people ever seek out help in making their writing better, I have yet to understand, but that could be one of life’s unanswerable questions, like, Why does my cat always want to play fetch when I’m busy at the computer?)
 
 
 
The blog is by Eva Blaskovic.  She’s brilliant.  Read what she has to say about how diminishing the words we use to express our thoughts diminishes what thoughts we can have.  Read what she has to say about the times when ‘bad grammar’ is exactly the right thing to do, and why that’s not the same as bad writing.  Read what she has to say about good editors not trying to force authors to change their personal style.  And follow her advice not to trust your word processing program’s spell checker.
About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

