B

B

This time I’ve got artwork for you…

B is for Betula.

2Betula_earth-from-space-clouds

The Betula is a starship from my work-in-progress science fiction novel, The Excalibur Mission.  The ship’s name is from the Latin word for the birch tree, and an indirect reference to a few lines from the poem “Birches” by Robert Frost:

birches

As for why someone would give a starship a name like that… Well, it’s a message of sorts, to one character in the novel from the person who had the Betula built in the first place:  Come back, start over…

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to B

  1. lindacovella says:

    So cool you have a picture of your starship! 🙂

    Like

  2. Visiting you on the 2nd day of the #atozchallenge. Happy to find another writer. Have time or interest in gardening? My theme this year. Come visit if you can. I have an adult grandson who I will tell about your posts. It’s his kind of thing. Hope you make a lot of new blogging friends this month.

    Like

  3. Drew Llew says:

    I love the starship name. The Robert Frost reference is perfect for a space wanderer. Thanks for popping over and following my blog earlier. Hope you like my B and beyond.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. SirZac says:

    That picture is stellar. Interesting concept in naming it too.

    Like

  5. halleygentil says:

    Fascinating! What a richness you bring to your work! I hope that one day, when people are studying and analyzing your book in school (or for fun) that they will make these connections!

    Like

  6. cjswriting says:

    Nice artwork! Hope you are enjoying your A to Z challenge as much as I am. 🙂

    Like

  7. Excellent incorporation of the Frost poem! His words breathe new life when presented in the context that you have. This is an interesting blog, I will be sure to check back again as the month progresses!

    Like

  8. Pingback: Interviews with my imaginary friends: Nicholas Ferrier | North of Andover

  9. Pingback: Interviews with my imaginary friends: Aiden Teige | North of Andover

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

