Sometimes, he gets to announce a really good SF novel.

Hunter and Tebrey

I’ll keep this short so I don’t geek out too much.

The novel that I was editing earlier this spring, the one that I couldn’t talk about because the author asked that I not so much as mention the characters by name (’cause he’s even more paranoid about that sort of thing than I am), the one that I’ve been waiting eagerly to be able to announce to the world…

Here it is.  The Remnant, by Paul B. Spence.  The print version is now listed on Amazon, and the Kindle edition ought to be showing up there later today.  Imagine me doing a happy dance — to the ‘soundtrack’ for this novel.  🙂

The description from the listing on Amazon:

Lt. Commander Hrothgar Tebrey finds himself assigned to an archaeological expedition as a military attaché because of his knowledge of alien technology. It should have been an easy assignment, light duty to recover from the disaster of his previous mission, but things quickly begin to go wrong. Someone, or something, is manipulating events to sabotage the expedition. When the science team becomes marooned on the planet by the tides of war, the sinister force reveals itself, and Tebrey must fight against a seemingly unstoppable enemy to save not just himself, the expedition, and the woman he loves, but his very soul. Some things are worth dying for, but it’s the things worth living for that matter.

Archaeologists in space!  Alien technology!  Ancient wars!  I look forward to some of my blog followers reading The Remnant so I can discuss the characters and plot and such without worrying about spoilers… Also, I’ll be editing the sequel in the following months, which will be big fun for me.

(The picture at the top of this post is not the cover art, by the way.)

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sometimes, he gets to announce a really good SF novel.

    • Thanks. Even though this isn’t MY novel, I’m quite excited about it finally getting published. And yay! I can finally talk about this story — and the characters in it — in more detail on forums and stuff. 🙂

      Like

  1. Alex Hurst says:

    I’d love to read it, but holey moley! That’s an expensive paperback. Does he have plans to release it on Kindle?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s expensive because it’s a rather large paperback, and just short of 150K words. No more expensive than any other of the same size and page count, actually. And yes, it is also available in Kindle format.

    Like

  3. lindacovella says:

    I like the idea of the archaeologists, too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

