a bit about my life as the clone of a sci-fi author

Today I’ve been trying to use music to get myself in the right mindset for some serious writing.  And by that I mean writing about serious topics, not just sitting down and writing a lot of anything.  Sometimes this works; sometimes it doesn’t.  Today, it’s not working so well.

There’s a joke that the only way an author could find time to ‘write all the stories!’ would be to clone him/herself.  They say it wouldn’t work, though, because the clone would have ideas, too, and would want to write those instead.  My own opinion is that it can work, if both parties are willing to work together, to integrate their stories into a larger whole.  Of course, I’m biased, because that’s exactly what my clone and I have been doing for almost two decades.

Today, though, the fiction just ain’t happening.  *sigh*

I think the problem is that I know I won’t have a lot of time to work on my own fiction before I have to get back into editor-mode and help my clone put the finishing touches on the sequel to The Remnant.  (Yeah, I get it: some people who read this blog don’t believe there are two of us.  Whatever.  We joke about this, you know.  Just yesterday, he said something like, ‘I wear glasses — and no one ever sees me and Weaver together…’  I told him that didn’t count because no one sees me at all.)  Anyway.  Writing.  Sequel to The Remnant.  He’s changed the title again.  I’m not surprised, given how many times we went back and forth on the title for the first one.  (Originally it was called Cedeforthy, for the planet it’s set on, but some people found that name a bit hard to pronounce, which is not good for a book title.)  Most of the story is finished, and most of it has been partly edited.  I know I won’t have to do a lot of proofreading and line editing, and as for the ‘substantial editing’ part, we both like to do that as we go along, rather than leaving it until the end.  What’s the point of making a major change in the plot but leaving the old version of earlier chapters intact?  All that does is make for a lot more work later.  (I keep track of changes to backstory in my head all the time.  I don’t know how I manage to do this, because I can’t remember important things, like, y’know, what groceries need to be purchased soon.  But I’d rather not have to keep track of which version of a story is the for-real, official-and-gonna-be-published version… Except, maybe, when I prefer the version that isn’t ever going to see light of day.  🙂  So let that be a warning to people who read the next book and are exceptionally curious about some of the minor characters:  I am never going to tell you everything about Brennen, and I’d probably have to be quite drunk to tell any of Morgen’s backstory.  At least until I get around to writing that part when he and Drake are properly introduced…  *imagines Loyal Reader’s reaction — laughs insanely*  And that’s Morgen and Drake, not Brennen and Drake.  *walks away, muttering something about trees, and souvenir rocks*)

Gee, I’m in a weird mood today.

The book is out!  And people are buying it!  And some of the ones who haven’t bought it yet have added it to their to-read list on Goodreads, and lots and lots of people have signed up for the giveaway there, too.

This is the awkward part; other people may know this story, but they don’t know the rest of the story, so I have to keep track of what happens when so as not to accidentally post spoilers in my blog.  I mean, mentioning names — just names — ought to be safe, because what harm does it do to let readers know that there will be some guy named Brennen in the sequel, but saying any more than that would possibly ruin a surprise (but not the surprise — trust me!), and… Yeah.  I have to keep reminding myself that the clone wants to have the sequel (tentatively titled The Season of Darkness now, but you know how that goes) out before November.  Then I can talk about the characters from that book, too.  Except I’ll want to talk about what happens in book 3…

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a bit about my life as the clone of a sci-fi author

  1. svrtnsse says:

    I tend to use music to get in the mood. Not sure how well, or even if, that works for you. Earlier today I came across a blog post someone linked where a musician posted something really serious about their personal circumstances. I’d never heard of her before, but the music is pretty decent and it sort of works with the message they had. It’s getting me in the mood to sit down and do some serious writing.
    I might have to change the music though as the passage I’m on isn’t really all that serious.
    Artist in question is Zoe Keating and you’ll find her blog and post via google if you’re curious.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Alex Hurst says:

    I also use music to get in the mood! But the other thing for me, which is sounds like is a bit of an issue for you too, is that when I have a ‘to-do’ lingering in the right corner of my brain that has to be done in the next few days/weeks, it take all of my energy, even if I’m not doing it right away because I can’t. I simply can’t think about writing when there’s some lingering responsibility on the brain. Hopefully it passes soon!

    Congrats on your sales. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh wow, well done on the book sales! That is so exciting – best of luck going forward too!

    The bit about not being able to remember the “important” things made me laugh, I’m the same. Although I read Sherlock Holmes recently and the great man himself makes the point of not wanting to cram up his brain with unimportant things that don’t make a difference to him, such as the solar system. So, I think it’s fine to only focus your brain power on the ‘important’ things 😉

    By the way, I have finished the award post and if you want to check it out and play along, come have a look on the blog and see what it’s all about 🙂

    Well don’t again on the book sales, I can’t wait for the day I get to be in your shoes!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

