fan art, meta-fiction, and other things

Cute and cuddly… neo-panther?

hello-neopanther

This picture is someone’s lighthearted fan art of Hunter and Tebrey, characters from my twin’s science fiction novels (The Remnant and The Fallen book 3 is being written now).  And look, bear-Tebrey has red hair and green eyes like the human version.  🙂

You know what’s slightly startling?  Finding out that a blogger I follow (and who follows me in turn) lives only 20 miles or so away from here.  (*waves to blogger/novelist in Clovis*)  I have a secret identity to maintain (it’s not as if I have an identical twin so people could know what I look like without ever seeing even a photo of me… oh, wait), and, well… Never mind.  I’m sure it’s just the current writing projects talking.  Mostly.  Geoffrey’s housemate, he gets weird sometimes.  Funny how seeing an ad for a television series that hasn’t even started yet can set off thoughts about two of my own fictional people: Jon, because of the lead actor (who used to slightly resemble Jon), and Jason, because of the story concept (precogging trivia is one of my superpowers).  Oh, yeah, I’ve also apparently been given a sign from Murphy, God of Strange Coincidence and Chaos-for-Your-Own-Damn-Good, that I must give Jon a larger role in sequels to “that novel,”  ignoring his desire to have a normal life (or what passes for such).

Sometimes I’m not in the mood to track hypothetical “Easter eggs” in fiction, especially the kind that hatch dragons — or ravens, or whatever.  Sometimes I’m not in the mood to hide ’em, either.  But lately… A few days ago, I woke up from a dream about my current writing project.  The characters, they were engaging in a bit of multi-layered meta-fiction.  I’m sure they thought they were being funny, messing with their author’s head.

It went something like this…:

“Where were you?” Jason shouts at Geoffrey (referring to Geoffrey having been away on another planet — in another universe — in the years immediately after the Five-Day War… and oh, yeah, that’s very much a plot spoiler, but if you’ve read The Fallen, you already know this, don’t you?).

“Long story,” Geoffrey replies (meaning that literally:  multiple novels, each over 100K words — I told you they were having fun with meta-fiction at their author’s expense).

“Aren’t they all?” says Jason (’cause these two, they read too much, apparently, and thus know stuff about other people… much to their dismay, in some cases).

…And that’s when I woke up, said, “Arrrghhh,” rolled over and got yargled at by the cat (“You’re awake now — play fetch with kitty!”), and stumbled into the kitchen in search of coffee.  (Mine, all mine!  Not allowing the coffee vibes to benefit fictional people who live in my head and make bad jokes as I’m waking up… Goddamnit, Geoffrey, I realize the “orange dream” was before your time, but you still know how badly it rattled me when it landed.  Remember that I know where to find you even when you’re not in one of my novels…)

Sorry about that.  I realize that people who don’t write fiction may not understand that having conversations with figments of one’s own imagination (don’t say it, Geoffrey) is perfectly normal and not at all a sign of mental instability.  I mean, this guy named Geoffrey is actually an aspect of me, isn’t he?  I even used his name as a pen name when conducting those experiments concerning readers’ perceptions of writing based on the author’s gender.  (You can read about that experiment here.)  And Jason got his coffee habit from me.  And there’s a reason why Marleah is an empath (hint: it’s not because I think that would be a cool ability to have), although she, at least, managed to avoid being burdened with some of her author’s other… mental quirks.  (Jon, on the other hand… Not my fault, though.  Not my fault at all.)

I have, indeed, made real progress with the writing of story stuff!  I don’t know if it counts toward meeting my weekly sarcasm quota when I’m writing about Alandra Kade (she’s very sarcastic at times), but I’ve got close to 1200 words for “Saint’s Day” now.  Since this is intended to be a short story (“Finder’s Fee” is around 3,500 words) rather than a novel, that’s good progress.  I have also written a new backstory-ish scene (which means it will probably be used as a flashback in “that novel”) that just came out of nowhere the other day.  I may even share it here on this blog when it’s done…

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

