My name is Writer, for we are many.

Leading up to the publication of his fantasy novel Darkness Concealed, D. Emery Bunn posted on his blog about each of the main characters (Liz, Ivan, Caleb, and Alexandra), telling who each character is, their origins, and where each character’s personality comes from.

This has given me an idea…

I blog a lot about where I get ideas for the characters in my stories, but I haven’t exactly been orderly about it.  (Oh, shut up, Geoffrey.  Don’t you have something else to be doing… like, I dunno, being a major supporting character in my brother’s next novel?)  I just sort of throw random facts and snippets out there with everything else I blather blog about.  So I’ve been thinking that maybe I ought to do something less… haphazard.  (Not the word you thought I was going to use, is it? *wicked grin*)  Maybe I ought to do a series of posts about the major characters from all the various stories I’m working on at this time…

Once upon a time, I wrote a character creation questionnaire thing as an interview with the character, because that’s a lot more fun than making a list.  (This was for a long-established character, mind you, and I don’t know how it would have gone with someone new, but I was pleased with the results.)  Now, I’m thinking of doing more such interviews with other characters.  Maybe not just the major ones, either.  I would enjoy interviewing Johan Riksen, for example.  (“So, Riksen… Does the admiral still cuss under his breath a lot whenever he’s just had a conversation with Drake?  And how’s the ‘squiggle box’ project coming along?”)  Imaginary friends Story characters who would definitely be on the list include Marleah, Geoffrey, Jason, Alex, Stephan, Alandra, and Raven.  Possibly Deegan, Jon, Riksen, and Rachael.  Even Harrison and Tebrey and Hunter and Ana and Shadovsky and Drake, if I can convince my brother to work with me on this.  Or Brennen (yes, really — it’d be fun… and by fun, I mean a bizarre experience but nevertheless good for the creative part of my brain) and Morgen and Em (who may someday forgive me for throwing him into the Inciting Incident, although it’s not as if I had a choice) and Lyra (*laughs at irony*) and Leander and Ryan and Kel and Elena and Aiden and Maggie and Nancy and Bruce…

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

