What’s the matter — you want to live forever?

I was just about to start on a new blog post (opening sentence:  Jason Grey has no idea how lucky he is to be a normal…) when a post titled “What’s Wrong With Immortality?” showed up in my WordPress reader.

Definitely a “Hail, Murphy!” moment.

I only laughed for a minute, though; my brain hurts this morning (because mindlinks and insomnia don’t mix well).  Now I’m drinking coffee — which I would have done anyway, obviously, given what I was preparing to blog about — and generally feeling amused at a string of weird coincidences.  I’ll probably still be amused about it on Tuesday, when I’ll have even more to say on this topic.

The author of that other blog observes that many works of fiction lately have immortal characters who angst a lot (my expression, not hers) about being immortal, and  asks some good questions about why we might see immortality as a bad thing.  I intend to comment on that post once I get my thoughts in order.  I also intend to blog about it here, since the topic of immortality/not aging and how a person would deal with that is relevant to my own fiction (and if you haven’t guessed that already, you’re either new here or definitely not paying attention), and besides, it’s interesting.  (I should ask Alex W. what he thinks about it, since the psychology of semi-immortal individuals is something of both professional and personal interest to him.  [snarky comments about Freud deleted as both off-topic and weird])

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s the matter — you want to live forever?

  1. Laura L. says:

    I like the immortal characters who can only be killed by… wait, wut?
    I get my blog post notices, from blogs I’m following, in my email. Just a few days ago I was noticing as I was scanning down the subject titles in my inbox that they could very nearly form a found poem. Creativity springboard!

    Like

  2. svrtnsse says:

    The elves in my setting are immortal. Every now and then they get a bit tired of the world around and they need to get away – only, they’ve already been everywhere and seen everything, or so it feels…
    I’ve given them the option to, at will, shut down their minds and revert into a feral state of sorts. While in this state the elf is little more than an animal, with no memory or knowledge of their past self. Once done, they’re able to revert back to their old selves again.

    Like

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

