ice is also annoying… but it could be useful

My very first sort-of professionally published story (someone paid me for it, so who cares if it was in a small press magazine that no longer exists?) was set on an ice world…

The funny thing is, that story was one I ‘wrote’ in my head while working in a place without air conditioning, during a particularly hot summer.  One of those ‘hundred degrees in the shade, and there is no shade’ summers.  Not to mention the ridiculously high humidity.  (80 percent is normal, and lower elevations mean the air can hold more anyway; 80 percent humidity at 4000 feet would still be far less water to breathe than 80 percent at 300 feet.)  I think I invented that planet as a way of tricking myself into thinking I wasn’t sick from the heat.  How could I be, when I was on a planet so cold that it only got warm enough for snow in the summer?  (The story was dreadful, by the way.  I was 16 years old and still trying to write what everyone said I was supposed to write — since I refused to give up the idea of being a writer at all — while somehow also making it science fiction because that’s what I wanted to write.  Such compromises don’t work.)

Anyway.  Extremely cold weather here and now, and we’re supposed to have a big snow storm on the way this weekend.  I could cope by writing a story set in some hotter clime… or I could use the cold to get into proper mindset for rewriting “Ice Is Also Great.”  Yeah, that would work.  The protagonist of “Ice” doesn’t care about the cold (a little bit about the character and a fragment from the story here), and ‘falling into character’ for a while may be just what I need.  Or I could write something fun and lighthearted, like a scene for Changing Magic with children making ‘snow dragons’ and talking excitedly about the upcoming Solstice.

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ice is also annoying… but it could be useful

  1. You writing a cold story during a hot summer reminds me of a day in winter years ago. I was walking with a friend, and I was complaining about the bitter cold – being a real brat about it. But she told me to imagine it was summer and this wind was only air-conditioning. Weirdly enough, it worked. What is writing if not imagining a world different than what is, I guess. Good luck with your writing!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

