progress, but not what I had planned

Sat down to write something about “the elusive Mr. Livingston.”  Ended up adding about 300 words to a story about Natalie Dahl and company instead.  No matter — it isn’t as if either of these stories is needed any time soon.  I do think it would be good to have Natalie’s story finished around the time “that novel” is ready to publish, since there is a connection of sorts between them, and it would be so much fun to mess with readers’ minds…  (You know how writers are advised to have a specific reader/audience in mind while writing?  Sometimes I think to myself, How will LR react when he sees this?  And then I mwa-ha-ha-ha like a mad scientist as I imagine his brain exploding.  Well, not literally — the exploding brain, I mean.  The mwa-ha-ha-ha really happens.)

Because of what happens in Natalie’s story, I have to write a little bit of it not only from Alex W’s perspective but also in his voice.  This isn’t as easy as it ought to be.  My own fault for entertaining a scenario recently about what his life would be/have been like if he and Caroline hadn’t split up after he took that government job (because in this alternate timeline, he took the job but quit after about a year).  So I try to think about Alex, and I get images of a townhouse in a city in the eastern US, not an office somewhere in Utah.  A far more pleasant situation, but not the one I need to look at.

Anyway.  The elusive Mr. Livingston.  Important to backstory, but not actively involved in any of the novels or short stories we have planned so far.  This seems… unfair.  Then again, he isn’t the only character whose story is not being shared in great detail — or any detail at all, really.  I am unlikely to write about Ryan or Leander or Brennen before they arrived at Aurora, and they are active in the novels we’re writing.  (Some part of me suspects we’ll find a way to salvage the “minstrel in the gallery” scenario from an earlier version — Murphy help us! — and that will mean writing more about Brennen than I intend at this time.  Whatever.  If he doesn’t like it, he can tell me to my face, right?  *weird author grin*)  Jon Livingston is a catalyst for things important happening; that doesn’t mean he has to be in the middle of everything all the time.  I do think he ought to be present in the sequel to “that novel,” at least.  As it is, his only page-time is an “uncredited appearance” in my short story “Finder’s Fee”… which brings me back around to that story about Natalie.

And here it is Tuesday yet again, and I still haven’t written that post I keep promising… I’m still having difficulty organizing my thoughts on the topic.  *sigh*  It shouldn’t be this hard.  I could talk about it for hours; why can’t I put words on the page?

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to progress, but not what I had planned

  1. Alex Hurst says:

    I feel your pain. I scrapped my NaNo project one week in for another, which is admittedly better, but the words aren’t coming all that much easier. Tack on to that the fact that my dog passed away last week, and my brain has just decided nothing productive, on any level, will be done… at the very least I’m getting caught up on my blog reading.

    I’m hoping finding a good book to get lost in will reset any crossed wires and I can get back to it soon. Hope things get easier for you, too. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

