more bits and pieces

So…

I got nominated for another blog award.  That’s good news.  I’m always pleasantly surprised when someone, y’know, likes this blog.  (Actually, I’m pleasantly surprised even when someone reads this blog.  There are now more than 160 of you awesome weirdos.)  Anyway.  I’ll be posting about that sometime soon, including seven facts about myself.  Just what you want to see, right?

I have been reminded yet again that listening to music is likely to make me think of things in my fiction that I haven’t been paying attention to, such as the fact that New Year’s Eve, 2014, is fast approaching.  (It’s an important date in the backstory for “that novel.”  I said to the characters, “Get a room!  I may be a fiction writer, but I’m not that much of a voyeur.”  Because I was getting that scene from both viewpoints at once, and that’s just wrong… *shakes head*)  But then, listening to music is likely to make me think of things in life that I haven’t been paying attention to.  Go figure…

I am still unable to organize my thoughts for those posts I promised, and I don’t know why.  It’s not as if I don’t have an opinion on either topic, after all.  Some would say that I have too much of an opinion, if anything (’cause, y’know, there’s no point in having an opinion about something that’s entirely fictional — and yes, that was sarcasm, just a little bit). *sigh*  Maybe I should just allow myself to say what I think in smaller bits.  Take a step back and try not to take things so personally.  Or at least focus on the topic that is less personal.  (That means you have to butt out, JG.  Isn’t there something else you should be doing right now?  Run along and leave your author in peace…)

I’ve had the lyrics to “Iris” by the Goo Goo dolls running through my head today.  (See above mention of New Year’s Eve, 2014.)  I hadn’t even heard this song when I first wrote something about the love-story subplot in “that novel,” but when I finally did, everything fit perfectly.  Hearing this song lately (and also “Hanging by a Moment” by Lifehouse — I can’t pinpoint the reason for this one, though) has made me think a lot about order of events, which is something I very much needed to clarify even if some of this never ends up in a published story.

Yeah.  Weird day.  Slow day, though.  Mostly.  The clone is still at the university, listening to grad students give their thesis defenses.  The cats are napping the way house-tigers do.  I still haven’t had lunch…

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

