“I can’t keep up with what’s been going on…”

It probably shows my age (and lack of taste?) that I still like this song.

I hadn’t heard it since it was regularly played on the radio those many years ago, but for some reason I thought of it last autumn.  Alas, it isn’t available on iTunes (dammit!), but there’s always YouTube for an occasional listen, right?

After not hearing this song for nearly thirty years, I still remembered the lyrics.  Mind like a steel sieve… 🙂

[fake hashtag] #musicIlistentowhenmycloneisoutofthehouse

I like this one, too.  And this. Yep.  I’m old(ish).  And weird — but you knew that already.

(For those of you not incautious enough to just click the links, the first song in “Lawyers in Love” by Jackson Browne, and the second is “Life in a Northern Town” by Dream Academy.  Third is “Take On Me” by a-ha — sorry, but the group didn’t capitalize their name.  Please note that the links are just so you can hear the songs; I’m in no way claiming to be a fan of the videos.  Except for the video for “Take On Me” — I like that one.)

blog-divider

Oh, I guess some of you want to know if I’ve done anything, y’know, useful today.  Well, let me tell you… I did look up various maps that I think my clone will need when writing the epic fight scene that comes up next in his WIP.  (The location of the scene is my doing, because sometimes my ironic sense of humor gets the better of me.  Everything else, though, is the clone’s fault.)  Earlier, I sent an email to the person for whom I did that small bit of editing recently.

The clone will be home in about an hour, and then we will eat leftover pizza (like sensible people, we purchased two pizzas yesterday) and watch two or three episodes of Supernatural on Netflix (yes, I greatly enjoyed the metafiction-ish episodes), and then I’ll read (if I can), and the clone will listen to music and write a fight scene in which a famous location is smashed even worse than it was before the POV character got there.  (Don’t bother trying to guess.  No matter where you think it is, you’re probably wrong.)

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “I can’t keep up with what’s been going on…”

  1. Laura L. says:

    You’re vying for my title of favorite blogger, aren’t you? Supernatural fan? Yee haw. Yes, the meta episodes are fun. I used to own the same Impala (red with black interior) and how I mourn getting rid of it. I of course have a girl crush on Felicia Day aka Charlie. Jackson Browne, check. OMG, my guilty pleasure of eons ago that I had forgotten about, Take On Me. I thought that video was terrific then and it still holds up, even with no twerking (written in sarcasm font).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Commentition 2015 New Year Edition | I Read Encyclopedias for Fun

  3. Did you know you can go to listentoyoutube.com and copy-paste the URL of the songs and it will rip the song from youtube so you can keep it forever? The downside is that the quality is questionable (don’t expect that fancy lossless audio), but it’s great for songs that can’t be traditionally purchased (I like using it for song covers and such, since you can actually buy people singing other people’s songs no matter how cool they sound, like this one:

    Also anyone who doesn’t like Life in a Northern Town (no matter their age) needs a serious talking to about music (but then again maybe I’m also old(ish)) 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: “…all your life and mine…” | North of Andover

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

