Sometimes, writing happens.

I just spent about an hour talking with the clone about the latest bits he’s been writing for The Madness Engine.  The story arc with Drake as viewpoint character progresses in interesting ways.  I should have expected the stasis pods, especially the one somewhere in the Indian Ocean — d’uh! — and I gibbered happily at mention of a faint trace of ancient tech just north of Andover.  🙂  Yet another point at which this series interconnects with “that novel.”  There’s also a “love triangle — with cats” thread that promises to become interesting very soon.

Doing the math, the clone said that if he can maintain similar progress to what he’s had the last few days (averaging at least 2K words a day), he’ll have this draft of the WIP done in a couple of weeks.  Then revisions and fleshing out any scenes that need it, and hopefully letting our Loyal Reader take a look at the manuscript (maybe I can use this to bribe LR into getting more of his own novel done?), and after that it’s off to the editor (yours truly)… Two weeks ago, we were certain this novel was not getting finished before summer and possibly not even this year.  Now, Murphy willing, it may get done by the originally planned release date.  *considers doing a happy dance*

As far as this novel goes, I’ve mostly been acting as a sounding board for the clone’s ideas.  If he came up with a plot element that really didn’t fit with something I’ve got planned for a later story, or if he has one of my people acting out of character (’cause I hate it when anyone tells lies about my imaginary friends, as well he knows), I’d tell him, but so far it’s all good.  He won’t let me read what he’s written so far, though.  I get a synopsis of key scenes, and sometimes he reads bits to me (this is how he catches dropped words and such), but I don’t get to read it for myself until time to edit.

I should write some really important scenes for “that novel” and then not let the clone see them.  *evil laugh*

Anyway.  I have been getting some writing done myself (a surprisingly cozy backstory scene, for example), but only in fragments.  I have been doing a lot of PR-type stuff lately, arranging author interviews and whatnot.  (Arranging the interviews is not the hard part.  Getting my clone to answer the questions… That’s the hard part.  I’m in charge of this stuff because it stresses him out a lot even to think about it.  Oh, well.  If there ever comes a time when I have to *shudder* appear in public as an author, I’ll make him go in my place.)  This takes time away from working on “that novel” — or it would, if I had much to write for it now.  There’s a lot done already, but a lot has to wait for the backstory (some of which is being written as a secondary thread in The Madness Engine) to settle out into its final form.

Y’know what we need?  We need a quantum reality stabilizers to attach to our writing folders so the backstory doesn’t shift while we’re not looking.  🙂  I wonder if Riksen can be convinced to design a “squiggle box” using twenty-first-century technology?  (Not that Riksen has invented the things yet… Too busy with other things, and even more so once the piece of tech referred to in The Madness Engine‘s title is brought in to be taken apart and studied.  That, too, should be happening soon.)

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sometimes, writing happens.

  1. Quantum reality thingymajigs…? I’ll take two of them, thanks. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love triangle with cats. Are the cats part of the triangle? Just wondering as the snow falls.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Um… Yes, actually. Sort of. It makes more sense if you know that the “cats” are sapient bio-engineered panthers, and that they’re mindlinked to their human (I use the term loosely) partners. The panthers like each other, but the humans — well, it’s complicated.

      Like

  3. Sheron says:

    I want a clone sibling too…I need one. There’s signing appearances, and editing, and laundry and…yes, please.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

