Updates: Pinterest and Grammar Rants

I think my Links page here is getting a bit unwieldy, and I don’t think I should add anything else to it, at least not until I can get it organized better (sub-pages, perhaps?).  However, I keep finding more web sites and blog posts and infographics that could be useful to writers.

Do you ever use Pinterest?  If so, you may want to check out my boards on writing.  I have three:  one for the technical aspects of writing (grammar and punctuation, etc.), one for the creative aspects (just about everything that isn’t grammar, punctuation, etc.), and more recently one where I’ve pinned links to articles and infographics about “science for fiction writers” (because if no one will take my word for it that not all stars go supernova, or that it is not possible to clone a rock, maybe they’ll listen to someone else).

I also have a board for some of my own blog posts, but if you’re reading this, you already know where to find those.  🙂

blog-divider

I have added a new page here, titled Grammar Rants.  Some of you requested that I continue posting tips and tirades about grammar and punctuation, whereas some would prefer that I not discuss such matters.  Well, now I’m keeping all my new “grammar rants” in one handy location for everyone interested; look for them in the menu bar at the top of the blog page.

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Updates: Pinterest and Grammar Rants

  1. That is quite a list of links. Perhaps consider categorizing them and breaking them down into more pages?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Laura L. says:

    Grammar Rants! (swoon)
    I’ve never been to your Pinterest pages. I’ve been avoiding Pinterest as it is just one more Internet to suck away my time.

    :::hides the year long project she’s been working on, sure it will create millions of dollars—cloning quartz:::

    Liked by 1 person

    • Pinterest IS a terrible time-devourer if you’re not careful. I do like going there to relax, though — I look at photos of landscapes and interesting architecture (and give myself sensory overload if I’m not careful).

      The ‘cloning rocks’ thing… My current ‘favorite’ example of Bad Science in Fiction. Saw something in the description of a sci-fi novel about a scientist ‘cloning rocks’ and eventually a whole planet. *shakes head* With sufficiently advanced technology, you could clone every living thing on a planet, but the thing about cloning is that it only applies to living things that have DNA or its equivalent. Trees — some of them pretty much clone themselves anyway. Aurochs, although I advise against that, because aurochs are MEAN. Bacteria, definitely — happens all the time in labs. You could clone a Horta, one of those silicon-based aliens from classic Star Trek, but it still wouldn’t be cloning a rock. (Yes, there will probably be some sort of “Ohmigod, what was that author THINKING??’ post eventually.)

      Like

      • Laura L. says:

        :::glances over at rock cloning experiment where the quartz has sat there for months, unchanged and certainly not replicating::: :::thinks “Maybe tribbles…”::: (Nah, tribbles replicate too quickly, no need for cloning.)

        Like

  3. I have several blogs in the works (three are public), and have found that some themes are easier to organize than others. As a blogger, I like sub-menus, and have done some alphabetized blog title menus, just to break up the list of back posts into manageable chunks. The next set of menus I add will be topical (a kind of cross between categories and tags). As a blog reader, I find the sidebar Tag Clouds confusing, and difficult to use, when they have varying sizes of font. The Archive list of months isn’t helpful at all, to me, either as a blogger or as a reader. All it tells me is how long somebody’s been blogging, and I’m just not motivated to read a monthly “back issue,” when I don’t know what’s in it. I’m more likely to click on an interesting blog title, and I’ve found that I get more views from maxing out the size of my Recent Blogs list, so I think titles may be what catch the most attention.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Quintessential Editor says:

    Thanks for sharing your Pinterest location. I followed you and will stalk some of your content on there. I use mine as a place to pin pictures and drawing I find inspiring or beautiful. I also dump all the silly memes I make for the QE page there.

    One can get lost on Pinterest for hours if they aren’t careful…

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

