Arrghh — author publicity stuff! Talking to humans! Eeep!

My clone is, if anything, less inclined to talk about himself than I am.  (You’re surprised, aren’t you?)  Yet I have to somehow get him to answer a bunch of questions for a few blog interviews — without causing him a lot of stress, because even author interviews are a bit too much like marketing his novels, and when he thinks about the business side of being a writer, he can’t think about, y’know, writing.

He passed 60K words on the WIP yesterday.  (Would it be weird if I said I metaphorically happy-danced in the post-apocalyptic ruins of Disney World?  Yeah, probably…)  He’s been writing every day lately, and I do not want to derail that.  On the other hand, author interviews!  Publicity for him and his novels.

(There’s also the little matter of me needing to answer a few interview questions, too, because a blogger contacted me a week ago and asked if she could interview me.  She did mention that she wouldn’t mind if my twin answered those questions, too.  Maybe I can make that happen.)

blog-divider

It may seem otherwise, considering how verbose I can be on this blog (yeah, sure I’m gonna keep all my A-Z posts under 300 words), but I’m not comfortable with social media.  Most of the people I’m “friends” with on Facebook are writers who don’t actually know me [embarrassing fanboy moment narrowly avoided], and I seldom know what to say even to the ones I do know.  (*waves to LR, who just recently taught me a new bit of writer jargon:  Tuckerization.*)  Twitter…  I feel awkward re-Tweeting, or replying even to Tweets that seem to be addressed to all and sundry rather than a small group of that person’s friends.  I feel as if I’m intruding on the world’s largest private conversation.

Actually, most of social media feels like that for me.

And the (very good) advice to ‘Remember that people on social media are just human beings like yourself’… Joking aside, that still doesn’t make me feel reassured.  Humans are difficult to talk to, even when I don’t have to deal with the conflicting signals of their words versus their voice inflections versus their body language versus whatever emotions they’re broadcasting.  On the other hand, not having voice inflections and facial expressions to enhance or clarify meaning makes it chancy at times to guess what is meant; it’s not as if the English language has a punctuation mark for sarcasm, for example, and a lot of people would misuse it anyway.

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Arrghh — author publicity stuff! Talking to humans! Eeep!

  1. Personally, I totally failed at marketing. It turns out, writing is only the first part of the long road to getting the world to read your book. The rest is all that nasty OTHER stuff.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. “Would it be weird if I said I metaphorically happy-danced in the post-apocalyptic ruins of Disney World? Yeah, probably…” No. It would be AMAZING.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m not saying I have anything against Disney, mind you, just that there was a work of fiction in progress, and maybe a few scenes in one of the story threads occurred in a ruined theme park about half a year after a global war, and I was greatly pleased with how those scenes went because it was my idea to have them happen at that location. (Also, rumors of a “zombie apocalypse” are greatly exaggerated; we don’t write zombie stories.)

      Like

  3. nrlymrtl says:

    Once a year, I make it to a scifi book convention (Bubonicon) and I am reminded that writers are just book nerds like us readers and mostly, they are just as awkward at social graces as I am.

    And, yes, I wish there was some punctuation mark that denoted sarcasm for social media.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve been to Bubonicon. Even though it’s bigger than it used to be, it still feels a lot friendlier than other conventions I’ve attended in years past. (I don’t go to the really big ones. Actually, I surprised myself by going to Bubonicon.) There’s far less of a division between pros and fans — no one there thinks it’s weird if a Real Published Author does cosplay, for example. Maybe it’s just that New Mexico in general is more laid-back and friendly than back east.

      Liked by 1 person

      • nrlymrtl says:

        I’ve only been to 2 cons – Dragon*con 2010 and then Bubonicon the last 3 years. Dragon*con was an experience, but I like the smallness of Bubonicon more. Being caught in the elevator with authors is a great chance to politely say how much you enjoy their work without being all fangirl.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Yay! I’m not alone! I was reading your blog to procrastinate from doing social media type stuff that I really need to do but really don’t want to. If I wanted to spend all my time talking to people, I wouldn’t be a writer in the first place. I’d rather spend time with imaginary people than real ones. They’re much less confusing.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

