The end (of the WIP) is near…!

Have managed to get some writing of my own done this evening.  About 500 words — how appropriate — of a scene from a flashback/prequel for “that novel.”  In keeping with the working title of another scene, I’m calling this one “Pirate Goes to the South Pole.”  (As always, it has nothing to do with literal pirates; surely there is some other reason why the character common to both scenes habitually wears a bandana like that…)

The clone is typing away.  A little while ago, he said, “I need to ask you about David.”

“Green,” I replied.

“I kinda figured, but I also need to know about his combat skills.  Any special abilities I should know about?”

“He’s really good with purely kinetic attacks,” I replied with a grin.  “He’s the one who shattered that pillar, after all.”

Then the conversation tangented briefly into a discussion about what I meant by shattered; the clone had assumed there was at least part of the pillar remaining, and I assured him that, yes, there was a substantial piece of it left.  “Hence the second picture I used in that other post today,” I told him.  “I remember when you first told me about that sequence of events.”

Earlier today, maybe five minutes after my previous post, I heard from the other end of the room, “‘So much for tradition,’ huh?”

“Well, it is traditional to do these things in batches of five.”

“It will take however many it takes.”

Part of me wants to make some joke about the clone being contrary.  Or about metaphorical numbers, and the removal of same — Murphy knows we’ve done a lot of that the last few days.  Despite quips made by yours truly in the past, there was no trouble getting anyone or anything to stand still for it.

blog-divider

Just took a break from typing this post to listen to what the clone wrote since the previous update.  As of midnight, the total word count on this WIP was 85,660.  The first draft of The Madness Engine is nearly finished.

It is one o’clock in the morning now; I will save the happy dance for after I sleep.

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The end (of the WIP) is near…!

  1. Pingback: Commentition Fabulous February 2015 | I Read Encyclopedias for Fun

  2. The end of the WIP is near, too – I know how it feels.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

