Authors Answer 20 – Writing Is Challenging

For me, the biggest problem seems to be plot: I get lost amongst all the possible ways a story could go. Fortunately, my clone is quite good at that sort of thing.

I Read Encyclopedias for Fun

Writing doesn’t always come easy.  In fact, it’s a rather lengthy process that is hardly easy at all.  Everyone has something they’re good at and something they find very challenging to do.  This week’s question was asked by Amy Morris-Jones.

320px-Modern-ftn-pen-cursiveQuestion 20: What element of writing (setting, characterization, plot development, etc.) do you find most challenging?

H. Anthe Davis

I think creating a coherent and controlled plot is my biggest problem.  My characters are basically people, so I’m rarely concerned about them, and I’ve been working on my setting for more than a decade so could probably detail it down to individual blades of grass if pressed.  But actually figuring out how to push all the characters into one place, keep them there, and make them do something dramatic and purposeful, can take me a long time to get right.  My first book spent a decade being rewritten until I…

View original post 781 more words

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Authors Answer 20 – Writing Is Challenging

  1. svrtnsse says:

    Tension (plot). I’m naturally interested in my character and what they’re doing, so I forget that my readers won’t know them as I do – or what I have in store for them. The story meanders back and forth wherever it feels like, and while I find it interesting, most others probably won’t. It’s something I’m struggling with.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have a bit of trouble with that, too. I LOVE dramatic irony (I may have mentioned that once or twice in blog posts 🙂 ), so I have a bad habit of holding off too long in revealing information that READERS need to know when I don’t want the other CHARACTERS to find out yet. There are a couple of scenes in my clone’s current WiP that made me cringe when he first told me, NOT because they’re bad scenes (they’re actually quite good) but because I wanted to keep certain characters’ secrets a while longer (or indefinitely)… and that would have been the wrong thing to do. Also, I have trouble finding a middle ground between subtle and blatant when it comes to revealing those secrets.

      Liked by 1 person

      • svrtnsse says:

        I only have a few of these reveals in my wip and they work fairly well. The issue for me is that I enjoy building up moods and settings. I want to make sure the reader is in the right mindset for what’s going on and while it’s good fun to write, it’s not necessarily very interesting to read – especially if they’re more interested in how something will work out.

        Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

