Interviews with my imaginary friends: Alandra Kade

For this year’s A-to-Z April Challenge, I’m interviewing characters from my and/or my twin’s fiction. Some of them are major characters, some are supporting cast, and some have managed to avoid any page-time (so far).

A

Up first… Alandra Kade, narrating character/protagonist for “Finder’s Fee” and other short stories.

Thomas:  Hi, Alandra.  Thanks for taking the time to do this interview; I know you’re usually quite busy with your regular job.  And speaking of that job, could you tell my readers a bit about what you do?

Alandra:  I’m a finder.  I find stuff. Information, old artifacts, whatever.  Part librarian, part archaeologist, part one-person salvage team, part trivia nerd — I’m sure you can relate.

Thomas:  Here’s a question from one of my blog followers:  What do you enjoy doing when not in the middle of some adventure?

Alandra:  Most of the time, my job isn’t adventurous.  I like it that way.  Murder mysteries and fugitives and all that — really not my thing.  [glares at interviewer as if the murder mysteries, etc., are his fault]  If you mean hobbies, I’d have to say listening to music.  One of my favorite bands is Striking 13; their style is what you could call techno-baroque. (I bet you didn’t realize that’s a real term in your own era, did you?)  I also like HDFC; that stands for Harrison De

Thomas:  –Thanks, but I don’t think this is a good place to explain their name.  A link to this interview will be going up on Facebook, after all.

Alandra:  What’s the matter, worried ‘Denmark’ Junior will see it?  [snickers]  Not damn likely.  And don’t look so surprised, Weaver — it’s your fault I’m nosy, isn’t it?  I’m a figment of your imagination, after all.

Thomas:  How do you know you’re not a figment of Paul’s imagination instead?

Alandra:  Because I don’t live in his brain, thank Murphy.  All that cat hair…

Thomas:  [glances at pocket watch]  Well, Alandra, it looks like we’ve exceeded the recommended word count, so it’s time to wrap this up.  Thanks again for agreeing to this interview, and good luck with whatever story you’re going back into.

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Interviews with my imaginary friends: Alandra Kade

  1. Hannah G says:

    She has the best job!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Sue Archer says:

    LOL, Thomas. I love the cat hair!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha that was funny – she’s a cool character and the cat line was awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Paul B. Spence says:

    My head has been a little stuffy recently.
    Alandra is just pissed because I got ahold of her backstory. Just you wait young missy…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Alex Hurst says:

    This is really cute. Even though I haven’t read the stories, the character is fun to listen to, and I didn’t feel lost. Great way to introduce your works for a broader audience! Kudos!

    Alex Hurst, A Fantasy Author in Kyoto
    Out of Print, Fiction authors and their shorts

    A-Z Blogging in April Participant

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Stephen Tremp says:

    Great line, ” I’m a finder. I find stuff. Information, old artifacts, whatever. Part librarian, part archaeologist, part one-person salvage team, part trivia nerd.” Yes, the reader can relate and that helps make for a great read. And thanks for participating in A to Z!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. shawn says:

    Great theme! I’m looking forward to meeting more of the voices in your head 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Diana says:

    hehe…Oh this is fun! Glad to have found it on the geek and greet!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Gene'O says:

    I agree with Hannah. Best job! This is a fabulous idea, and seems like it would be a fun thing to write.

    Thanks for joining the #geekpasticheblog party. I’m surfing around visiting all the posts and collecting links today.

    Gene’O
    Instigator-in-Chief at Sourcererblog

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

