Interviews with my imaginary friends: Joseph Brennen

For this year’s A-to-Z April Challenge, I’m interviewing characters from my and/or my twin’s fiction. Some of them are major characters, some are supporting cast, and some have managed to avoid any page-time (so far).

B

Today, I’m interviewing Joseph Brennen, whose first appearance in our stories was a minor role in The Fallen, published in 2014.  He also appears, more prominently, in the upcoming sequel, The Madness Engine.

Thomas:  I’m going to get right to the questions, if that’s all right.  So… In The Madness Engine, there’s a big confrontation between you and another character.  What do you think motivated your author to have that happen?

Brennen:  I assume you mean the fight between myself and Drake.  It’s possible I had it coming.  Besides, Drake and I had our differences long before this.  What happened in the previous novel is just the tip of the iceberg.

Thomas:  Care to elaborate on that?

Brennen:  No.

Thomas:  Okay… [shakes head]  How do you feel about how your author is treating you?

Brennen: It could be worse.  Remember, I know what happened in the original backstory you two came up with.  I find that I like not dying from having my heart blown out of my chest.

Thomas:  Without any major plot spoilers, can you tell us anything about the plot that caught you by surprise?

Brennen:  What happened after that big confrontation.  I don’t think any of us were expecting it.  Not me, not Drake, and not you or Paul.

Thomas:  I’d say that’s a fair assessment.  I wasn’t expecting any of it, beyond knowing that the confrontation itself had to happen eventually, and I had no clue how it would go.

Brennen:  If you’d known, would you have tried to talk your brother out of it?

Thomas:  No.  As you said, you had it coming.

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Interviews with my imaginary friends: Joseph Brennen

  1. Susan Kane says:

    What an interesting conversation! Thanks for commenting at my site.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sue Archer says:

    “You had it coming.” Ha. Loving this.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Alex Hurst says:

    The last line made me giggle. 🙂 I love snark, and snark is always best with the fictional friends we have! (Maybe because we know we can always have the last word.)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. clicksclan says:

    I love the idea of interviewing a character you’ve created to help get a feel for them. I usually do something similar in preparation for NaNoWriMo to get to know who I’ll be writing about. This was a neat little interview.

    Cait @ Click’s Clan

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Stephen Tremp says:

    I’m always talking to imaginary people. They make more sense than me.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

