Interviews with my imaginary friends: Deegan

For this year’s A-to-Z April Challenge, I’m interviewing characters from my and/or my twin’s fiction. Some of them are major characters, some are supporting cast, and some have managed to avoid any page-time (so far).

D

Deegan:  Are you actually looking at the questionnaire in the back of that book?

Thomas: [hurriedly closing book] No — why?

Deegan:  Don’t ask me about recurring nightmares.

Thomas:  Wasn’t planning on it. How about a few questions from my blog readers instead? Here’s one: You’re obviously the main character of the story, but who besides yourself do you feel has an interesting tale, or a story that readers might be interested in?

Deegan: Don’t even say that! I’m not the main character, and I don’t want to be the main character. I’ve seen what you two do to your protagonists. You know who I’d really like to see have his own story?  Brennen.  He’s got it coming.

Thomas: [shakes head] Okay, next question: What traits do you consider your strengths, and what are your weaknesses?

Deegan: I assume you mean now. I’m loyal, I’m good in a fight… I’m not as good at apporting as some people I know, which is a weakness.  On the other hand, I have better sources of information about the Enemy than anyone other than Morgen.  And no, I’m not going to tell you what those sources are.

Thomas:  You mean you’re not going to tell my readers… Last question: Is there another fictional world you’d rather have your adventures take place in?

Deegan: What, you mean I have a choice?  And, come to think of it, what difference does it make?

Thomas: Good point.

 

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Interviews with my imaginary friends: Deegan

  1. Alex Hurst says:

    Ahh, characters avoiding authors is a classic. Mine all run and hide when a character professes that “nothing has happened to them lately”…. inviting trouble, they say. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this. It piqued my interest. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sue Archer says:

    “I’ve seen what you two do to your protagonists.” Ha! Nice.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

