Interviews with my imaginary friends: Em

 

For this year’s A-to-Z April Challenge, I’m interviewing characters from my and/or my twin’s fiction. Some of them are major characters, some are supporting cast, and some have managed to avoid any page-time (so far).

E

In my brother’s fiction, Em first appears in The Fallen. I, on the other hand, have known Em for about 30 years now.  (The same story inspiration gave me both him and Morgen, although you wouldn’t know it to look at them.) Thus far in this interview series, Em is the first obviously non-human character.

Em:  You know, I’m pretty good at passing for human when I need to.

Thomas:  You’re a shapeshifter; that’s cheating.

Em:  What, shapeshifting is cheating, but cosmetic surgery isn’t?

Thomas:  A natural ability versus something undertaken at considerable personal risk?  You betcha.  [looks at notes]  One of my readers wants to know, What is one thing that you would change about how things went down?

Em:  That’s easy:  I’d have let Onyx be the one to meet Tebrey on Vesuvius, instead of going there myself.  It should have been Onyx, and the only reason it wasn’t was that you had that stupid argument with Onyx’s partner.  Which was your fault, by the way.

Thomas:  I never said otherwise.  Here’s a question from me:  How do you feel about my friend Grace’s plan to make a fabric-sculpture figure that looks like you?

Em:  [laughs]  You mean a cute-and-cuddly green Mo-ceri plushy — wings, mane, horn and all?  Could be amusing.  Better than her wanting to make me dress as some movie character or whatever and attend a sci-fi convention.

Thomas:  I have no idea what you’re talking about… If Paul can find that drawing he did of you, d’you think I should share it here on my blog?

Em:  The drawing is a more accurate depiction, but I’d rather see a photo of a plushy — excuse me, a fabric-sculpture figure.

 

 

 

 

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Interviews with my imaginary friends: Em

  1. Laura L. says:

    I think I would like to see both, the drawing and the picture of being dressed up as a character at a convention.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Alex Hurst says:

    I think the more accurate reason shape-shifting is cheating and cosmetic surgery isn’t is that cosmetic surgery is usually permanent. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fran Clark says:

    An amusing interview, Thomas. Thanks for introducing Em to me!

    Like

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

