Interviews with my imaginary friends: Nicholas Ferrier

For this year’s A-to-Z April Challenge, I’m interviewing characters from my and/or my twin’s fiction. Some of them are major characters, some are supporting cast, and some have managed to avoid any page-time (so far).

F

Nicholas Ferrier is a secondary character in “that novel” (the one with no working title). Specifically, he’s a medic aboard the Betula.  (That ship was my B topic for last year’s A-to-Z Challenge, if you’re curious.)

Thomas:  You were quite active in the re-terraforming effort before you agreed to join the crew of the Betula. How’d that happen? Were you reluctant to change jobs, or did you welcome the opportunity?

Ferrier: To your last question, yes and yes. I was very reluctant to leave the re-terraforming project; my work there is important to me. However, once the JMC’s representative explained all the details of why they wanted to recruit me, I was intrigued, and found myself unable to refuse.

Thomas: Why is that?

Ferrier: The JMC’s representative told me there was good reason to believe that there would be — how should I say it? — a non-human individual aboard the Roald Amundsen, the scout ship lost at Alpha Centauri a hundred years ago. When news came that the Amundsen had returned… Well, there was quite a bit of excitement — and paranoia, which is not surprising. The JMC, I was told, wanted to make sure there was at least one medic aboard the Betula who could be counted on to deal with whatever situation might arise without succumbing to that paranoia.

Thomas: I sincerely hope that all works out well for you.  And for any ‘non-human individuals’ you may encounter in the course of the story.

 

 

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interviews with my imaginary friends: Nicholas Ferrier

  1. shawn says:

    I want to know more 🙂 Great short ‘interview.’ I like this concept and think I’ll use it to develop the characters in my book. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Character interviews makes an excellent theme for the A to Z Challenge! Love it.

    2015 A to Z Challenge Co-Host
    Matthew MacNish from The QQQE

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

