Interviews with my imaginary friends: Jason Grey

For this year’s A-to-Z April Challenge, I’m interviewing characters from my and/or my twin’s fiction. Some of them are major characters, some are supporting cast, and some have managed to avoid any page-time (so far).

J

This is the character you all want to know about, right? Jason Grey is one of three main characters in “that novel.” He is also mentioned in several other stories, including The Madness Engine and “Finder’s Fee.”

Thomas: [hands Jason a large mug of coffee] My brother suggested this morning that I ask you about what you’re doing currently, according to stories already written. Specifically, he said, Ask him if he thinks Drake is looking for him.

Jason: I don’t know. Maybe. I know he’d help if he knew I needed it, but… If he was going to look for me, why didn’t he do it sooner?

Thomas: Why didn’t you contact him, then? He left you a way to get in touch.

Jason: [glares and says nothing]

Thomas: Pretend I don’t know any of this, okay? I’m asking these questions on behalf of my readers, who mostly haven’t ever met you.

Jason: I tried to contact Drake, right after… when Alex got me out of that place in Utah. Going to Gerhardt for help wasn’t my first choice, but Drake wasn’t answering his phone. [takes a big drink of coffee]

Thomas: So you’re currently aboard the Roald Amundsen, outbound for Alpha Centauri, soon to go into coldsleep for the majority of the voyage. I want to know if you’ve told anyone else amongst the crew about… you know.

Jason: Yes. Just a couple days ago. Mike and his damn robots… The fallout from that conversation was… not as bad as I’d expected. Not bad at all, really. Alex helped with some of the explanations. Lin — that’s Sophia Yara Lin, our astrophysicist — gave me a hug afterward and told me that everything would be all right.

Thomas: They’re good people — even Mike. One of my readers wants to know, What doesn’t the author get about you?

Jason: I assume this means my other author — your twin. We haven’t actually spoken, but I do get the impression, based on things some of his “imaginary friends” have said, that he thinks I’m being a coward for avoiding certain kinds of trouble whenever possible. What I’d like to know is what he thinks I could do instead, other than just get myself killed in an especially unpleasant way. I’d have expected him to be more sympathetic, y’know?

Thomas: He just thinks you should have trusted your friends with your secret sooner. I agree.

Jason: Uh-huh. You’re one to talk.

Thomas: Well, it would have simplified the plot… Yeah, I see y– [sigh] Okay, you win.  Happy now?

Jason: Only if you promise not to interview me again. [drinks coffee] At least for a long time. Like, don’t do it again until I’ve forgotten this one.

Thomas: It could take several centuries for that memory to fade.

Jason: Exactly.

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Interviews with my imaginary friends: Jason Grey

  1. Visiting during the #Challenge and love to find fellow writers. Delighted with your theme. I’ll be back! If you have time in April, I hope you will come visit too. My theme is about the settings for a new novel….Chicago, Seattle and beautiful Italy. You could have helped me edit! Cheers.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Italy, hey? The more time I spend looking at landscape photos on Pinterest, the more certain I am that part of the setting for one of my novels looks a lot like Italy — Tuscany, in particular. (Substitute apple orchards for the vinyards, and you’ll get a good idea of the region near Mistinghill in my work-in-progress novel Changing Magic.)

      Like

  2. jlennidorner says:

    J here, stopping by from the #atozchallenge 2015!
    Great post. I’m following you on your listed social media sites.
    @JLenniDorner

    LOL! Best of luck fading the memory.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jemima Pett says:

    Glad to find someone else has a twin, or clone, although yours does appear to be real 🙂 I like the theme too!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Commentition Amazing April 2015 | I Read Encyclopedias for Fun

  5. TRISTA says:

    This is SUCH a great idea! I used to teach writing, but usually creative nonfiction. I’d have students interview themselves and each other to help trick their minds into revealing what they’re really trying to say in their work. To interview your own characters is super smart–you get their back story and you develop their voice. Have there been any surprises? Has anyone revealed something you didn’t expect? Any plot twists as a result? (Glad to have found your blog!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • SO FAR, no one has revealed anything particularly surprising in these interviews.

      On the other hand, my brother was working on the final (yay!) chapter for his current WiP last night, and some of the things that came out in dialogue there were a surprise to both of us. A couple of characters I’ve already interviewed have some explaining to do… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Updates and trivia: May 16 | North of Andover

  7. Rose F says:

    Ah, another writer who does this….

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

