character interview aftermath — my brain hurts

Today, I “interviewed” the elusive Jon Livingston, and I can’t believe I got him to talk at all. No, I mean that. I’ve known this character for a long time, longer than I’ve known Geoffrey or Drake or Tebrey. Met him because of Ryan, for whatever that’s worth. (And the only reason I even remember his namesake is also because of Ryan.) Met Drake partly because of Jon, because without Jon’s backstory, there wouldn’t have been a story for Drake to walk into and take over.  🙂 (You guys know I consider both of you dear friends, right? Please don’t fight — I don’t think Grace’s “beanie dragon voodoo dolls” can handle the stress.) But for whatever reason (I could tell you, but then I’d have to leave the blogosphere forever), I have difficulty writing anything in Jon’s POV. Weird, I know. I mean, he lives in my head, just like the rest of them. (Yes, even the ones who belong to my brother. We’re clones, we’re mindlinked, and we do occasionally have conversations with each other’s imaginary friends. Bet you’re envious, aren’t you? Of my bizarre sense of humor, if nothing else.)

dandelion-of-doom

giant dandelion, because my brain feels kinda like this now

 Managed to avoid any of the topics that would have led me into saying things I don’t want to say — about the character, about the ways we are alike, etc. (For the record, Jon is NOT in any way based on me, or an idealized version of me, or whatever kids these days are all into writing and then angrily accusing others of writing. He’s his own person, as much as any fictional person can be, and I still don’t see the resemblance except in a few rather trivial and purely coincidental details. Dark-haired, tall, male, human… Yeah? Lots of people fit that description.)

I should not have been typing this while also sort of monitoring Twitter. I’m going to go drink a lot of coffee and try to think about something else now, because it is obvious that Murphy, god of strange coincidence and chaos-for-your-own-damn-good, has decided to “bless” me today… *sigh*

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to character interview aftermath — my brain hurts

  1. Laura L. says:

    I can attest that basement paneling, circa 1976, no matter how well masticated, does little to ward off Murphy and/or chaos. Just fyi. nom

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Maybe Murphy IS God? Because he surely rules my world … In literature, there are no coincidences, In real life, everything is an accident 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

