Interviews with my imaginary friends: Jon Livingston

For this year’s A-to-Z April Challenge, I’m interviewing characters from my and/or my twin’s fiction. Some of them are major characters, some are supporting cast, and some have managed to avoid any page-time (so far).

L

Thomas: My readers want to know, What other characters would you normally be compared to?

Jon: [laughs] Is this a trick question? No, I don’t think I should go into that. Some of your readers may think I’m actually based on you, Weaver — not that I’m implying you’re fictional or anything.

Thomas: We’re nothing alike.

Jon: Well, we’re less alike than appearances suggest.

Thomas: Tell Grace that. [shakes head] I was going to ask if you could imagine yourself having a completely different life, but I’ve come up with something better: Tell us about your name.

Jon: It’s not the one I was born with, if that’s what you’re getting at. In that way, I’m much like several other characters you’re interviewing this month. Yes, I named myself after the protagonist from “Bach’s birdie book,” as you jokingly call it. I needed a new alias, and it… felt right.

Thomas: And your role in the overall story arc?

Jon: Catalyst, so far. Geoffrey and his housemate helped me when someone was trying to kill me, which is how we all first met Drake–

Thomas: I love how you skip over details to make that not sound as scary as it was when it happened.

Jon: Anyway, my role is all just backstory, as far as your novels are concerned, because you promised to let me have a few years of a normal life before throwing me back into the fray again.

Thomas: Are you looking forward to that?

Jon: I have a feeling I will be, by the time it happens.

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Interviews with my imaginary friends: Jon Livingston

  1. Paul B. Spence says:

    He just thinks he’s safe for a few years…

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

