So, about those character interviews…

I had my A-to-Z list all planned out. I knew who I’d interview each day of the challenge.

Then, on the day before the M post was due, I began to have a doubt…

So I thought about alternatives. If I wasn’t going to interview Marie, there was another obvious choice: her brother, who is a close friend of the protagonist from Project Brimstone (which will be, I have been told, my clone’s next WiP as soon as The Madness Engine is published). Or Max, whom my clone recommended, but neither of us knows enough about Max yet to interview him for some blog post. (Hell, we only recently found out that his story is linked to all the others. For a long time, we believed that his was the one true and absolute stand-alone.) And then there was the aforementioned protagonist from Project Brimstone — his first name is Michael, too, even though he doesn’t use it — but I’d already selected him for a later letter.

And then, to my surprise, my clone suggested Mandor Shadovsky.

Shadovsky is a character in two novels (so far) from The Awakening series. He’s the head of Internal Security for the Sentient Concord, which means he’s in a position to be involved in a lot of what happens even though he “flies a desk” for the most part, as Grace would say.

To make things easier for myself, I did not imagine I was conducting the interview in Shadovsky’s office… 🙂

blog-divider

On Saturday, I again changed my mind about whom I’d interview. I had planned to interview Jordan Parr; he’s a very minor character in “that novel,” but he works for one of the main characters. Jordan has that job partly because of his exemplary discretion, and putting him in a position where he’d be required by his author to betray a confidence or two would be unfair.

I decided to interview Evelyn Parker instead. I think she is the better choice anyway. For one thing, she’s the protagonist in a short story (originally a minor thread in The Fallen, removed to keep the novel shorter) that we’re going to publish Real Soon Now, something to keep the audience happy while they’re waiting for The Madness Engine, so she already has some “screen time.”

blog-divider

I may have finally found a character for my U post, too. My clone informed me the other day that there’s a good chance Frasier’s real name begins with that letter.

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So, about those character interviews…

  1. Rosie Amber says:

    Dropping in from the A to Z, I have given your blog a shout out from my letter R today https://rosieamber.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good you have a lot of characters!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

