book updates — April 22

My clone finished writing the final chapter of The Madness Engine yesterday.

This afternoon, I finished the first round of editing on the final three chapters.

Next, a PDF of the manuscript will be sent to our beta reader, probably within the next couple of days.

Once the beta reader reads it and sends his comments, I’ll do another (hopefully small) round of editing…

We have new cover art for all three books (The Madness Engine and the two before it in the series). The new cover designs are nearly complete.

We may actually be ahead of schedule for this third book in the series.

I happy-danced this afternoon, and so did my cat Doodle (the one who wants to be a neo-panther when he grows up).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to book updates — April 22

  1. How exciting! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is. Everything is moving a lot faster than I expected. At this point, we’re planning to have the third book available for pre-order in another two or three days, and release it on May 22. (The author will be leaving for an archaeology dig at the end of May, so the third book must be out by then or wait until he gets back.)

      Like

  2. nrlymrtl says:

    I think I need to see a picture of Doodle, the neo-panther!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. milliethom says:

    Now definitely seems like a good time to dance. Things do seem to be moving well for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow. Ahead of schedule. That’s celebration worthy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yep. AND published a couple of related short stories, “perma-free” on Smashwords.

      (My clone just informed me a moment ago that The Madness Engine is now listed on Amazon for pre-order and WILL be available on May 22. Woot!)

      Like

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

