Songs to write sci-fi by, part 2

Bonus to go with today’s A-to-Z post: the “working soundtrack” for my twin’s contemporary military SF novels.

"Generation Landslide" -- Alice Cooper
"I Am the Walrus" -- The Beatles
"I’m Only Sleeping" -- The Beatles
"Heart of Glass" -- Blondie
"Eight Miles High" -- The Byrds
"American Pie" -- Don McLean
"Falling Down" - Duran Duran
"Madman Across the Water" -- Elton John
"White Rabbit" -- Jefferson Airplane
"Mother Goose" -- Jethro Tull
"Thick as a Brick" -- Jethro Tull
"Kashmir" -- Led Zeppelin
"California Dreamin'" -- The Mamas & the Papas
"No Myth" -- Michael Penn
"Forever Afternoon" -- The Moody Blues
"Melancholy Man" -- The Moody Blues
"Love Is a Battlefield" -- Pat Benetar
"Mrs. Vanderbilt" -- Paul McCartney & Wings
"Nineteen Hundred and Eighty-Five" -- Paul McCartney & Wings
"Comfortably Numb" -- Pink Floyd
"Have a Cigar" -- Pink Floyd
"Synchronicity II" -- The Police
"Wrapped Around Your Finger" -- The Police
"A Whiter Shade of Pale" -- Procol Harum
"Conquistador" -- Procol Harum
"Repent, Walpurgis" -- Procol Harum
"Harden My Heart" -- Quarterflash
"Bohemian Rhapsody" -- Queen
"Lunatic Fringe" -- Red Rider
"Big Log" -- Robert Plant
"Sympathy for the Devil" -- The Rolling Stones
"Fade to Black" -- The Rolling Stones
"Mrs. Robinson" -- Simon & Garfunkel
"The Boxer" -- Simon & Garfunkel
"The Sound of Silence" -- Simon & Garfunkel
"Trippin' on a Hole in a Paper Heart" -- Stone Temple Pilots
"Blind Eye" -- Uriah Heep
"South Side of the Sky" -- Yes
"Owner of a Lonely Heart" -- Yes
"What's Up?" -- 4 Non Blondes

These are the songs my twin listens to while writing his Project Brimstone novel(s); this “working soundtrack” is simply music the protagonist enjoys, and it is not intended to have anything to do with the events in the story.

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Songs to write sci-fi by, part 2

  1. svrtnsse says:

    I find the lack of Depeche Mode disturbing.
    The presence of Pink Floyd though, reassuring.

    😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I find the lack of Peter Gabriel disturbing; I’m going to mention that to my twin later.

      EVERYBODY (at least the major characters) gets at least one Pink Floyd song on their personal soundtrack.

      Depeche Mode may not be to Stoner’s tastes, but “Policy of Truth” is (informally) part of MY working soundtrack for “that novel,” if that helps at all.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You have some awesome songs in there!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. msugar13 says:

    Amazing songs for your writing. I love every one listed and all of the bands. I am an 80’s kid, and I know that shows my age, but your song and musician list just gave me a sense of nostalgia.

    I just stopped by from the challenge to say hello.

    Melissa
    @msugar13
    sugarlaw13@live.com
    http://fictiontoolbox.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

