Interviews with my imaginary friends: Alex Walotsky

For this year’s A-to-Z April Challenge, I’m interviewing characters from my and/or my twin’s fiction. Some of them are major characters, some are supporting cast, and some have managed to avoid any page-time (so far).

W

I never intended Alexander Walotsky to be in any of my stories; he was just someone in the background. Then my twin decided that saving the protagonist from a Very Bad Situation was not enough; Alex had to share in the protagonist’s later (mis)adventures, too, which is how he ended up in “that novel.”

Thomas: I’m tempted to ask you about the lithograph on your office wall.

Walotsky: Why not? You show up to start this interview immediately after reading an article quoting Elizabeth Bear quoting Roger Zelazny, and you think there’s no risk of our conversation devolving into a couple of middle-aged fanboys geeking out over books and such anyway?

Thomas: Yeah, I see what you mean… In that case, please tell my readers about the lithograph on your office wall.

Walotsky: It’s a picture of a lighthouse: monochrome, almost a sketch. And yes, it is a real lithograph, printed off a slab of rock, just like the ones you used to make. It was a gift from my ex-wife — her way of telling me that she thought my new job was bad for me and that I should leave it for something better as soon as possible. [grins] Unlike most members of my profession, I’m perfectly capable of appreciating a good metaphor.

Thomas: I knew I liked Lynnie for a reason. And you did leave that job for something better, didn’t you?

Walotsky: I don’t think it’s what she had in mind. She just thought I should go back to having an ordinary private practice instead of working for the government.

Thomas: Well, I’m sure you did a lot of good work even before the events at Pemberton. As you told me before, someone had to keep the mad scientists sane enough that they didn’t do something irrevocably stupid.

blog-divider

(If you want to know a little bit more about that government job Alex Walotsky had at one time — right now, technically, although not in our universe, O Readers of my blog — you can read about it here and here.)

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interviews with my imaginary friends: Alex Walotsky

  1. Sue Archer says:

    I’m intrigued!

    Like

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

