A bit late for nerves…

Yesterday, LR sent me an email letting me know that he was about 20 percent of the way through The Madness Engine.

That’s good to know: he got through the opening sequence without throwing the book across the room and exclaiming, “What fuckery is this?” or some similar expression. (I want to know what he did say/think when reading the early chapters. I suspect “Arrrghhh! Nooooo…!” was in there somewhere.)

He’ll laugh. He’ll cry. He’ll like the part with the cats. That’s my hope, anyway. (Also, I had to mention cats because of the original quote, which refers to a famous Broadway musical.) Maybe he’ll say the new characters are confusing. Maybe he won’t like the character who was first introduced late in the previous book, because he’s also seen a large chunk of a story set much later in that character’s personal timeline, and the cognitive dissonance may be deafening. (At least that won’t be a problem for any other readers, if that is the case. The rest of you get this stuff chronologically, not including the occasional bloggish spoiler.) LR is a most excellent beta reader, though, and I trust his input.

Yes, I’m nervous — someone is reading this novel! eep! — even though it’s not my novel. I was there when the protagonist was first named. I was there when he had that misadventure on Vesuvius setting off all the strange things that followed. (Um… Swap the order of those events. Sort of. We didn’t know his first name in the beginning. And we definitely didn’t know about any of his kin. Except the cat, of course. But gods only know what name Hrothgar Tebrey would have ended up with if I hadn’t kept a copy of Beowulf on the shelf next to the chair — burnt orange armchair, and how’s that for obscure-fiction-reference funny? — where my brother always sat when he was at my apartment.)

Look, I’m doing it again: tangenting like mad because I’m anxious. Which is silly, because as I said, I know LR will like The Madness Engine, and if he likes it, all the other cool people will like it, too. 🙂

Some of the nervousness is the sort of thing perhaps only a Wielder of the Red Pen can understand: Ohmigod, what if there’s a typo on page 47? What if the reader doesn’t understand why I didn’t italicize that word? (Yes, italics are much on my mind again. Goddamn reviewer with no frakkin’ clue about a technical aspect of writing… *sigh* Okay, I’ll stop now. But dammit, my professional competence was questioned by someone who was wrong!)

The book goes live on May 22; it has to be uploaded to Amazon by the 12th (because of how books made available for pre-order are handled). The window for last-minute changes grows quite narrow. Everything is fine, of course; we wouldn’t have sent it off to LR without editing first. But there’s still that nagging doubt, because there’s always a nagging doubt.

Then, the week after the book goes live, the author goes off to some forsaken place in Texas to do archaeology for a month, so I’d better have any additional author interviews and whatnot lined up (and his answers typed to send) before then.

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A bit late for nerves…

  1. Laura L. says:

    I’m not sure if you wrote it this way or not, but my impression as a reader was that despite all the punctuation, the stops, the paragraph breaks, etc. that this post was written as one sentence and you didn’t stop to breathe. That’s kind of the frantic way I read it. I realized about 3/4 through that I was holding my breath.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Used to worry a tiny bit about “what if there’s typo?!” but these days I keep seeing them in professionally published best sellers… Damn drunk copy-editors.

    I freaking love that tangent has a verb form. “Tangenting.” I don’t care if it’s dictionary legit. It’s just cool

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

