Updates and trivia: May 16

♦ If you read my “Grammar Rants,” you may be interested in the updates to the page about homophones; I’ve added several words recently.

♦ Yesterday, May 15, was Jason Grey‘s birthday; tomorrow, May 17, is the birthday of Michael Delling, a minor character in my twin’s WiP, Project Brimstone (and a major character in a couple of other stories). I don’t know if there will be cake, but there should be. 🙂

When I mentioned Jason’s birthday on Facebook, my clone commented on the post, which led to a discussion about how to reconcile certain differences of opinion about this character’s background. I admit, when Paul first said something about “the DD treatment,” I immediately thought of that retrovirus… As it turned out, he actually meant making the character older than some people think he is. (I suppose it could work to also make the character older than he thinks he is, if the story needs that.)

Speaking of works-in-progress… The clone has been working on two different stories, writing bits for whichever novel he has ideas for at any given time. One is the aforementioned Project Brimstone, a contemporary military sci-fi thriller. And oh, yeah — it’s connected somewhat to the novels he’s already published. 🙂 The other is, believe it or not, urban fantasy. To date, I think he’s got around 7K words written for the latter, and 30K or so of the former. Project Brimstone is the one he intends to publish first, but nothing says he can’t have “Max’s story” ready to go soon afterward.

The clone will be going off to do archaeologist stuff for a few weeks, starting on the 25th. He probably won’t be in any shape to so much as think about writing until he gets back, but you never know…

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Updates and trivia: May 16

  1. milliethom says:

    Archaeologists can be such single-minded people when they’re in the field! 🙂 My eldest daughter is one… So it’s perhaps best to let your clone enjoy his digging and stuff for a while.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Birthday to Jason and Michael.

    A character who’s older than he thinks he is … interesting idea.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

