Sometimes, he tells jokes — seriously.

unsupervised

Just FYI, I’m currently internetting without the supervision of a responsible adult, and have been without such supervision since early Monday morning. (I don’t get to call myself a responsible adult, because I’m physically disabled, and I don’t have a “real job” at Walmart or whatever, and of course being a freelance editor and also handling nearly ALL the marketing for my twin’s novels on the side doesn’t count as work, since I can do all that from home.)

My weird sense of humor is flaring today, too. (I think I said it just that way in a comment on someone’s blog.) I even had to give a disclaimer about that sense of humor, in case one of my blogger friends thought I was, y’know, being literal that time I said I was created in a mad scientist’s lab. (If it were true, do you really think I’d go around telling people??? Sorry… Weird sense of humor again.)

It didn’t kick in until late afternoon/evening, so maybe it’s due to my clone having a Guinness or three after a long day at the archaeology dig. We’re mindlinked, you know, and I’ve noticed a tendency for me to get a bit silly and even giggly when he has alcohol in his system, even though I’m not present and don’t even know he’s been drinking until he tells me so, after the fact. (Some of that is not a joke — or at least not just a joke. You’re all clever people, so I’ll let you figure out for yourselves which is which.)

blog-divider

I got some fiction writing done today! Yay! It’s even a scene I’ll have a home for eventually. Nothing blatantly sci-fi/fantasy, but it’s part of the uber-story-arc.

And then there was all the stuff I wrote and can never make use of. I do try not to rant and overshare and generally sound angry about certain topics, but damn, I really wish I could use a variation on the taunt I’d use against certain of my university classmates when they’d complain about some assignment being too hard. Y’see, I was an art major, and the common perception at that university was that Art Majors All Haz Teh Dumb: we were studying art because we lacked the intellectual capacity to study a “real” subject like, say, Phys. Ed. (The snark is strong with this one… 🙂 I’d have a better attitude about people with degrees in Phys. Ed. if the ones I’d known personally weren’t all a bunch of raving homophobes and misogynists and religious fundamentalists, all at the same time. I lack the intellectual capacity to be friends with people like that. *shrug*) Anyway. When a classmate of the “art majors are stupid” mindset would complain about an assignment being too difficult, I’d chime in with, “I didn’t have any trouble with it — would you like me to help you?” Once or twice I was less nice about it: “I’m an art major, and I didn’t think it was hard at all,” with a strongly implied, What’s YOUR excuse? Sometimes lately I want to say to someone online, “I’m autistic, and I don’t have any problem communicating through words. What’s your excuse?” I know it would be mean for me to say it, but sometimes I really, really want to anyway. (I especially want to say it to people who’ve shown themselves to be of the “autism is mental retardation” mindset or something similar. I know — I’m a bad person. Always have been, always will be, ’cause I have consistently failed to learn how to smile and nod and agree with bullies, at least when they’re bullying someone other than myself.)

Okay. Long paragraph there… I think I have finally figured out what tl;dr means, by the way: too long; didn’t read. Fine. But if you can’t handle occasionally long paragraphs and frequently long posts, why are you reading MY blog? 🙂  I talk/write way more than a person with my flawed neurology is supposed to be capable of.

*sigh* Yes, I’m irritated about the autistic-equals-stupid bullshit. It used to startle me, how people who think I’m a genius will sometimes abruptly change their minds and “realize” I’m on the opposite end of the bell curve once they know my mental processes aren’t exactly like theirs. D’uh! Did they think the weird humor and pattern recognition and ridiculously huge mental hoard of trivia on myriad topics are just an act? This is me, friends. I won’t say it’s entirely unfiltered, but I’m not acting, and I’m not ‘pretending to be different’ in order to ‘make myself seem more interesting.’ (Why would I do that?  To quote a famous actress, “I don’t need this duck pond!” All making myself seem more interesting would do is draw more attention, and really, I have more than I’m comfortable with now.)

blog-divider

Hmm. If my silliness earlier was due to my clone drinking, maybe my surliness has been partly due to that, too. (Ha! That’s something the other guy couldn’t have said, ’cause he doesn’t have a clone. *said Weaver with nearly enough irony to break reality or something*)

And don’t worry about me: I’m always a bit grumpy and grouchy (or so I’ve been told), so any displays of such are not to be taken as a sign I’m in a bad mood. I actually had fun typing this post.

Now kindly get off my lawn. 🙂

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sometimes, he tells jokes — seriously.

  1. Hannah G says:

    I’m somewhat autistic, to the best of my knowledge, and good grief. I usually wish I was LESS interesting, when I’m feeling grumpy.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

