Taking a break

My cats say I need to take a break from the internet and spend the afternoon reading a book, so this is the only (original, not reblogged) post you’re getting from me today.

still-life

This first picture is a painting I did as a teenager. Meant to be a little bit like medieval paintings — thus the flattened shading — and a little bit like a Renaissance still-life. And yes, the rose is silver. (Simplest explanation: “It’s a book thing.” I’d just read Sign of Chaos, and I was intrigued by the implications of a pseudo-haunting in the castle…)

And since we’re on the topic of fan art, have another. I didn’t make this one, though.

 puff

Hopefully, in this context, someone will guess who these young ladies are supposed to look like. Aside from being drawn like the Powerpuff Girls, I mean. (*glances at LR, shakes head*) This picture is Grace’s handiwork.

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Taking a break

  1. nrlymrtl says:

    I’m guessing Rand’s ladies from The Wheel of Time. Though if they had been drawn with weapons, I would be certain!

    Liked by 1 person

    • They’re actually the princesses from the Chronicles of Amber novels: Deirdre, Fiona, Llewella, and Florimel.

      (Is there a character in the Wheel of Time novels with green hair? I only read the first four of those, so I have no idea.)

      My brother made some offhand comment once about Buttercup from Powerpuff Girls being like a cartoony version of Deirdre, and that’s all it took to give our friend Grace the idea.

      (Grace is also the person who did the “Hello Neo-panther” picture of Hunter, with Tebrey as a rusty-furred teddy bear “sidekick.”)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mei-Mei says:

    Silver rose for Corwin, huh? 🙂 Nice job on that; I find it hard to make roses look like roses.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mark says:

    That painting you did as a teenager is somewhat impressive. The rose – even one by any other colour – looks expertly painted. The book ribbon and the blue vase look great too. As does the blue background. Everything else looks okay but the whiteness of the book pages, and on the candles, need a tiny wee bit of work.before I’d put it on my wall.
    However, with that critique, it’s a better painting than I’ve ever done and I like to paint.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wasn’t happy with the candle flames, either. I should have put more effort into making them look like flames and worried less about getting the color just so. It doesn’t show up well in the photo (I am NOT a photographer), but the candles themselves do have a bit of shading, as do the book pages (which are actually ivory, not white).

      The phthalo blue background… My high school art teacher HATED the background. For one thing, he didn’t approve of all that blue. Also disapproved of the mostly dark look of the painting. (He complained about how “shadowy” the painting was. I laughed — couldn’t help it.)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mark says:

        Personally, I think you have (had?) an aptitude for painting and I’d love to see one of your present-day versions.

        On a side note – I echo your dismay about high-school art teachers. I loved drawing when I was younger until I met my high-school art teacher. He filled me with disappointment.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Mark says:

    Yeah, I was right. I can see a skillful talent in your painting and I think you’ve got an eye for bringing something to life. Specifically the lighting/shading. Your mind’s eye has encapsulated the specific luminosity of splashed lighting, especially on the abdomen area of the armoured humanoid. The background, again, I think is brilliant. I really enjoyed observing this painting. Thanks for (re-)showing.

    Lithography, for me, seemed like an awful lot of hard work to produce something that I could do in a tenth of the time with pencils. I blame my, then, teacher for not instilling the beauty of what lithography can produce.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

