Your ideal laser tag team?

This is something I just thought of a few minutes ago, inspired by, among other things, a bumper sticker I won in a haiku contest (yes, really) a while back and a meme a friend shared on Facebook today.

Imagine you’ve been invited to compete in a laser tag tournament. The prize is… Well, more wealth than you can imagine (which is my way of saying, Just make something up). You get to choose your 4 team mates, and they don’t have to be real people you know in real life, either. If you want some guy from your favorite computer game on your team, go for it. If you want your kid brother on your team because he likes to chase laser dots… Um. Maybe not such a good idea. (*slightly embarrassed grin*)

Name the 4 people you pick to be on your team for this tournament, and tell who they are and why you chose them.

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Your ideal laser tag team?

  1. Peter Quill, because his unorthodox ideas would take the game to a whole new level of fun! My brother, because he’s awesome at any game and I want to be on the winning team! Steve Rogers, because he’s a natural born leader and Richard Castle because he’d write some interesting new rules into the game and amp up the excitement level 🙂 Just off the top of my head. If you asked me tomorrow, the team would be entirely different 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m afraid my answer is dull and practical (perhaps a reflection of my self?):

    I’d just choose any four Navy SEALS or Army Rangers, who would knock out the other team, then stand over their opponents, repeatedly firing into the laser sensors until the highest score ever had been achieved.

    Oh, unless you’re talking about some kind of souped-up laser tag with lasers that could actually burn people or cut them in half, in which case I’d be doubly sure to choose those guys as my teammates.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. LR replied to this on Facebook, so I’ll repeat his initial answer here:

    “Immediately Han Solo came to mind. Then, for some discipline, I’d add in Hrothgar Tebrey. Number three was tougher. I didn’t want to dip into the Star Wars well again, but having a light saber to deflect enemy tags seems like a good idea, so I’ll go with Ahsoka Tano.”

    I told him he can’t have Tebrey for his team, though — author gets first dibs.

    Like

  4. Hannah G says:

    One Esk from Ancillary Justice because she’s the ultimate deadpan sharpshooter, as long as I can get her on my side of course. Reynard the Fox (my character), because he’s the ultimate tricksy fox and I’m not above tricksiness. Worf as the bruiser, provided he can be convinced not to actually injure anyone. And Batman, because… Batman. He’ll be the time leader, obviously. And I will hide somewhere I won’t be able to mess anything up. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

