Amazon… A virtual marketplace, or Big Brother?

‘You broke the rules, but we refuse to tell you what those rules are.’ Yeah, there’s definitely something wrong here…

imy santiago

A couple of weeks ago I read the third installment of a series I really loved. I will refrain from sharing the name of the novel and its author.

Like any reader, as soon as I finished reading, I wrote my review. When I tried posting it on Amazon (I did buy the eBook, just like any normal and decent human being would), I received a rather concerning email.

I will not share the screenshot of the email as it does contain the title of the book and name of the author. In its place I have copied the body of the email below.

Dear Amazon Customer,

Thanks for submitting a customer review on Amazon. Your review could not be posted to the website in its current form. While we appreciate your time and comments, reviews must adhere to the following guidelines:
http://www.amazon.com/review-guidelines

Here I was, thinking I had included an…

View original post 972 more words

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Amazon… A virtual marketplace, or Big Brother?

  1. I review books for people I know all the time, though I prefer not to. I don’t like reviewing books written by friends. So, if I don’t like the book, I just “forget” to post a review rather than hurt the feelings of someone I care about.

    Amazon can be picky picky, but there are plenty of other review venues. I’ve had trouble posting various kinds of reviews on other sites, not only Amazon. They ALL use software bots to screen the reviews, and you can’t argue with software, so I don’t try. If I find too many reviews are getting bounced, I stop reviewing on that site. My blog is my main outlet. I review on Amazon as a favor to Amazon buyers, but I don’t have to. The world will keep turning if I don’t.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Laura L. says:

    Eek. Thanks for reposting this.

    Like

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

