The Sanskrit word for “derp”

Please don’t ask how the question came up (the clone and I were watching something unspeakably stupid on Hulu), but a few days ago I asked, “How does one say derp in Sanskrit?”

So the clone immediately looked it up on Google. I don’t know how he does it — his Google-fu is amazing. Did I ever tell you about the time he found, while doing research for a novel, the name of one of my old college buddies on a recently declassified list of participants in a secret government project? We had a good laugh over that… (Yes, true story — what there is of it.)

Anyway, the Sanskrit word for derp is murkh.

You may see this word in blog posts from time to time, just because. (I’ve already used it in a “note to self” while going over a manuscript; it seemed appropriate.)

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Sanskrit word for “derp”

  1. Yes, but what is derp? I could Google it … but that would ruin the fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anonymous says:

    “Derp” — generally, an expression used much like “d’uh” but implying that either the speaker or the one spoken to is being VERY stupid/foolish. That’s my own definition, off the top of my head. I then found a definition in some online slang dictionary that says it’s either an interjection “used to draw attention to foolishness or stupidity” or a verb meaning “to act foolishly or stupidly.”

    (*deletes tangent about knowing how to say really rude things in fictional languages*)

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    “Anonymous”?? REALLY, WordPress? Now you don’t even recognize me ON MY OWN BLOG?

    Like

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

