Yes, I live in New Mexico. Yes, that really is part of the United States.

Apparently the most popular thing in New Mexico Magazine is a monthly column called “One of Our 50 Is Missing.” In it, they shares anecdotes from various people — readers of the magazine, mostly — about encounters with individuals who, for whatever reason, still haven’t gotten the memo that New Mexico is part of the United States of America and has been for more than a century

The column is archived on the magazine’s website. Read it and laugh (while simultaneously shaking your head).

United States Map with State of New Mexico clipart

United States Map with State of New Mexico clipart

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yes, I live in New Mexico. Yes, that really is part of the United States.

  1. Oh, that’s painful. I’m glad I read it, but I’m sorry, but I just couldn’t laugh. That’s as bad as the young people who live in my town who can’t spell the name of our town (and it’s a short, uncomplicated name). I have a cousin who moved to NM about 35 years ago. I’ll bet she has some lollapaloozas to share. Saints preserve us!

    Liked by 1 person

    • People in New Hampshire, New York, and New Jersey don’t have to deal with the same “you’re not really in America” nonsense, but that may be because most Americans don’t know that “Old” Hampshire, York, and Jersey are real places. And many Americans can’t even find their home state on a map. However, if people in Muleshoe and Bovina and Friona and Earth (population approx. 1030) in western Texas don’t know the name of the state less than 200 miles from their front door… Well, I wouldn’t necessarily be surprised (okay, maybe a little surprised), but I would feel justified in mocking them on the Internet. A lot.

      (It doesn’t help the “New Mexico isn’t part of America” thing in the least that residents of New Mexico need a passport to travel to other states by airplane because an ordinary photo ID — driver’s license or whatever — from New Mexico isn’t accepted. My brother needs to get a passport before he goes to California this summer, and that’s just not right.)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. BTW, not far from where I live in Indiana are towns named Mexico and Peru. It never occurred to me before, but now I wonder what kind of trouble their citizens experience.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Honestly, I think the level of “dumb” in our nation has been steadily rising for years and maybe reaching some sort of horrible crescendo. It would be funnier if it weren’t so potentially scary.

    There is a city of Mexico in Maine, Pennsylvania, Indiana, Missouri, New York and a Mexico Beach in Florida. They are also part of the U.S.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. nrlymrtl says:

    Yep. Always fun to explain that I don’t need a passport to drive to Texas or Colorado.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

