Sometimes, he re-reads a favorite series of novels while waiting.

I need to figure out a way to double the word count on one of my unpublished short stories, because that’s a sort of tie-in to one of the novels Paul is working on now, which means I can finally do something with it. The short story is told from the POV of one of the secondary characters in the novel.

Normally I’d say this is a good time for me to read a lot of short fiction, but today is March 23, and I decided earlier in the month that I ought to get back to something I used to do every year at this time: re-reading a series of fantasy novels I read for the first time when I was 15. I have actually forgotten enough of the specifics that I can no longer quote some of my favorite scenes word-for-word. That’s how long it’s been. Also, there’s a scene from a later book in the series where the main character is talking to his cousin and says something along the lines of, “So how’d we turn out so normal?” and his cousin just looks at him like he’s crazy… I need that quote, and I can’t remember exactly how it goes. Arrghh!

Anyway. Current word count on Project Brimstone (working title) still stands at just short of 60K. The clone is recovering from a bad respiratory infection, and the thing about having difficulty breathing is that it can impede one’s ability to creatively string words together into a coherent and entertaining narrative.

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sometimes, he re-reads a favorite series of novels while waiting.

  1. Sheron says:

    Oddly enough, I’m having the exact same difficulty. For the first time ever, I’m short words for my latest novel, only having 60k. Since it’s a space adventure involving a search for a habitable eorld, I need to add one more encounter with something in space. Oh, inspiration, come visit.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

