Updates and blatherings:

Don’t you hate it when someone you don’t even know has been watching The Walking Dead way too much, and their dreams about the show leak into your dreams and cause your sleep to be filled with zombies and melodrama night after night?

Not that this happened to me, mind you…

blog-divider

Sometimes Doodlecat feels left out because he’s not a tortoiseshell/calico cat like the other cats in this house. I told him that only girl cats are torties, but being an inkbeast is also very cool.

“They’re rare, but there are sometimes male torties,” added my brother.

“Yeah, but they can’t father kittens, which is what the cat breeders want.”

“To be fair, I’m not sure I could father kittens, either.”

Some weird conversations happen in this house…

blog-divider

Last weekend, a group of creative anachronists (members of the local chapter of the Society for Creative Anachronism) met just north of Clovis, New Mexico to hang out, practice medieval-style combat, eat a lot of food, listen to music, and whatever other things creative anachronists do around here. It was a birthday party for someone, I heard. My twin attended this gathering. He got to hit a few people with his new axe. It’s just rattan and heavy neoprene, plus the ubiquitous duct tape. Packs quite a wallop, though. I joked that he should name it Motivator, and every time that newbie he’s training gets caught not paying attention during fight practice… thwap!

blog-divider

I am currently reading Shifting Reality, by Patty Jansen. Really good book: interesting plot, well-rounded and relatable main character… Y’know, the sort of thing just about everyone looks for in a novel. Before that, I read Visitor, the most recent in the Foreigner series by C. J. Cherryh. Also a really good book. The thing I sort of dreaded happening in this novel didn’t happen. The things I hoped for in the novel (which reminds me: I need to blog about Lois McMaster Bujold’s Gentleman Jole and the Red Queen soon) did happen, plus some interesting and totally unexpected plot twists. Before that, I’d re-read all the Amber stories (yes, WordPress, that word is supposed to be capitalized — it’s a place name in this usage — and I’d appreciate it if your stupid little auto-“correct” stopped messing with my typing) by Roger Zelazny. (There will probably be a blog post about that sometime, too. I’m sure you’re looking forward to more posts that aren’t about “writing glitches.” Me, too.)

About Thomas Weaver

For several years, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom (editor). I'm physically disabled, and I currently live with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have several cats. I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.