Observations, advice, and updates

Trying to speak too quickly may result in a garbled sentence stating that you just texted your cat.

No matter what any online periodical says about the period/full stop falling out of favor because reasons, I will continue to use them wherever appropriate in everything from novels to Tweets.

“Normal” sensory overload (due to autism) does not mix well with hypervigilance (due to PTSD). A loud air conditioner unit in the window doesn’t mix well with either.

Don’t trust a proofreader whose blog posts contain semicolons used in place of colons.

Happiness is knowing there are at least eight more books in a series you’ve become quite fond of. Anxiety is suspecting the author(s) will do more horrible things to your favorite character before it’s over. Gratitude is paying for every story even though they’re available to read for free on a website.

LR, our main beta reader, is now reading the unfinished manuscript for my clone’s contemporary sci-fi novel, Project Brimstone. Am I nervous? Yes, I am. I have no real reason to be, partly because it isn’t my novel and partly because I already knew LR wouldn’t hate the story. Mostly this read-through is so someone who’s not mindlinked to the author can give him feedback on the pacing of the plot. I’m also kinda hoping LR will recognize one or two of the secondary characters. 🙂

The other day, while I was discussing writing with my clone, the topic of publication order came up. It’s gonna be, like, forever until Changing Magic comes out, but that’s fine with me, because of all the stories in the uber-arc, that’s the one most likely to be mistaken for fantasy (note that I said mistaken!), so it’s a good idea for him to be well-established as a sci-fi author before bringing that one out. He also mentioned something about Jon (the elusive Mr. Livingston) being a for-real, appearing-in-scenes character in a planned spin-off series.

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Observations, advice, and updates

  1. What’s the book series you like?

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

