Sometimes, he thinks about audiobooks.

I haven’t listened to an audiobook in a very long time. More than twenty years, in fact. They’re just not my thing. (Also, abridged audiobooks? Not good. Leave out or shorten a scene the “reader” remembers and likes from the print version, and there will be fannish outrage. Trust me.) I know a lot of people these days prefer them over print versions, though. ‘Reading just takes too long,’ someone said to me the other day. (Seriously?? Reading takes too long, when the average person can read about twice as fast as someone can speak the same words?) Or, ‘I don’t have time to read much, but I can listen to an audiobook on the drive to work.’ (That makes more sense. Why deprive yourself of good stories entirely just because you don’t have enough free time to read as much as you’d like?)

Anyway. Audiobooks. It seems I’ve got to do a bit of research… Currently, there are no audiobook versions of my clone’s novels, and maybe that is a situation that ought to be rectified.

I should listen to audio versions of novels I already know, so I can compare them to the print versions. (No, not those novels. You have no idea how much damage a bad soundtrack and worse sound effects can do to a perfectly good story. Here’s hoping it’s better with moving pictures added, yeah?) I know there audiobooks of some of Lois McMaster Bujold’s Vorkosigan Saga novels; that would be a good place to start. (Yes! There is an audiobook of The Warrior’s Apprentice, and it is unabridged! *happy dance*) I don’t know what the audience expects of audiobooks these days.

Any input — advice, opinions, whatever — is  much appreciated. Even recommendations for audiobooks that you think are especially good examples of their kind.

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sometimes, he thinks about audiobooks.

  1. I think that Audible is owned by Amazon, and they have a program similar to Kindle called ACX where you can put collaborate with voice talent and decide to pay up front or split royalties from the audiobook. I’ve looked several times, but haven’t tried it myself.

    It’s a great opportunity to expand your market. In theory!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thebookgator says:

    As a person who reads, I strongly prefer the printed word. I think it is particularly problematic voicing the opposite sex. That said, I have absolutely adored the reader for Ben Aaronovitch’s Peter Grant series, Kobna Holbrook-Smith. I also liked the reading for Alas, Babylon, and plan to try a mystery series he also reads by James Lee Burke.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Do you think audiobooks work better for stories with a single POV? Would that mean the voice actor doesn’t have to do voices for any other characters?

      Like

      • thebookgator says:

        The audios I’ve listened to all were single point of view, but dialogue is where things might fall apart. I think because of a consistent narrator, single POV would work better. For Peter Grant, I think because the reader is a stage actor, he did a number of characters very well and very distinctly–I would have believed one of them was another person. When I listened to a woman voicing Janet Evanovich’s series, it was weird to hear her attempt male voices and tended to be distracting.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. This is on my to-do list for my books. In theory, it’s a great opportunity, because there are far fewer audiobooks than there are eBooks, and hence far less competition. My recollection is that the cost is fairly high, though. I believe I recall that Audible has a good article on the equipment you would need to create your own audiobook, but the consensus seems to be that you’re better advised to hire a pro than do it yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

