Sometimes, fictional people are angry at one another.

Unsurprisingly (this happens every time), when I had a week entirely alone, I started talking to myself characters from my/our stories, and some of that has resulted in… interesting plot complications.

There was something about Geoffrey telling Brennen off — not that this has not happened before, when I test-run dialogue for potential sequences of events — and I was rather surprised by Geoffrey’s attitude. I mean, it makes sense that being around Drake so much has made him… less than intimidated by other people, but damn. The gist of it was, ‘I understand your original motivations, but the situation has changed, so get over it already!’ (If the old, deleted ‘quarterstaff incident’ scene ends up being recycled with Geoffrey instead of Tebrey, please warn me before saying, ‘Here, proofread this,’ okay? I’m not saying it needs to happen, but it suddenly occurred to me that it could.) But, y’see, someone keeping secrets had the indirect result of nearly getting one of Geoffrey’s friends killed, a while back. Nearly got Geoffrey himself killed, too. (For the record, he’s kinda disappointed that he didn’t get to keep the scars from that incident. Pain is fleeting, glory is eternal, chicks dig scars. Or however that goes. Not that I had to drop out of college for two years because I was in witness protection after helping stop the Mob from stealing some important computer code or whatever wouldn’t impress a woman, maybe. All a lie, BTW — it’s just the cover story, ’cause what really happened is soooo much stranger. It had nothing to do with the Mafia, and the code people wanted to get their hands on wasn’t computer code. And the scars Geoffrey doesn’t have only because of advanced medical technology — dammit — would have been from helping protect the thing the code was needed to access…) So he’s understandably disinclined to put up with someone he knows keeping secrets that have the potential to cause trouble for everyone if they come out at an awkward moment.

If Alex ever gives me trouble, I can make him behave (he’s a fictional person and must do as his authors tell him!) by threatening to have him talk to the other characters about their quirks, phobias, and hang-ups. Mwahahahaha…! (Yeah, I know: no one in Alex’s profession could handle people like Brennen anyway. *shakes head*)

Fun story-ness. Sort of. I’m having fun, at least. (Yes, that is a variant on the “I’ll be happy” quote, although I have not and don’t intend to write myself into a story. *said Weaver with enough irony to warp reality just a little bit*) Trying to figure out where we are in the semi-local timelines, because I’m fairly sure Alex is, right now, either in Florida or on his way there, in an alternate universe which is much like this one (but not this one!), and there are some continuity issues I need to deal with: Why doesn’t Gerhardt say anything about where our “missing” character is? What has been going on with Elena these past few months? Who’s the Canadian actor? Okay, I really don’t care about the true identity of the Canadian actor, so forget that part. I do worry that we’re still compressing the timeline too much, and I really need to do some research into how much prep time certain undertaking normally require.

I can’t ask the clone for help with any of this, either. He’s preoccupied lately with… cultural anthropology, you could say. *rolls eyes*

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sometimes, fictional people are angry at one another.

  1. I would like this twice if I could, very entertaining!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

