Don’t just take MY word for it…

If you want more grammar ninja moves than my daily “Writing Glitch” posts provide, or if you want to learn about other aspects of writing fiction, here are a few blogs you should look at.

The blogger at Terribly Write gleans examples of writing-mechanics errors from Yahoo! articles and other sources. The posts are short and concise, and the types of errors are listed in categories for your convenience. (More than eight hundred examples of apostrophe misuse!) Says the blogger, “You won’t find all the rules of grammar, punctuation, and spelling here. Just practical, pragmatic, and prescriptive tips for writing for the Web.”

Then there’s Quintessential Editor. As the blogger says on his Welcome page, he provides “writing tips every day, for everyday writers.  You will find information regarding writing, editing, proofreading, and other miscellaneous tomfoolery.” Also, he’s funny and entertaining.

Janice Hardy’s Fiction University. The tagline for this blog is “Taking Your Fiction to the Next Level.” You won’t find the mechanics of writing (grammar and punctuation and stuff) discussed here. What you will find is a large collection of resources for story development: brainstorming, worldbuilding, plot structure, characterization… voice and style and when it’s good to use adverbs. There are also articles on what to do after you’ve written your novel/short story.

Dan Koboldt’s Science in Sci-Fi, Fact in Fantasy series. If you write speculative fiction of any flavor, you need this. For each post, Mr. Koboldt has an expert in the topic share the things authors need to know about it. The articles are overly detailed, but they hit the highlights, and they’re more than enough to point you in the right direction for further research. These posts aren’t just for SF/F writers, either; any author can benefit getting the facts right in their work of fiction.

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing, Writing Glitches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Don’t just take MY word for it…

  1. Quintessential Editor says:

    I’ll add these folks to my follow list/bookmarks for sure. I already was following Terribly Write. Her daily grammar sniping absolutely slays internet “journalism,” which always makes me smile. I started my existence as a military journalist. There were two major places where typos would get your butt chewed out in a military fashion: headlines and names. Laura (Terribly Write) seems to find these two flaws constantly.

    Quintessential Editor? That guy is barely able to knock two rocks together to form a sentence! Seriously though, thanks for the nod!

    Liked by 2 people

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

