Writing Glitch #132

Today’s (second) glitch:

glitch140

This sentence has two problems.

First, my should not be capitalized.

Second, a dash used like the one in this example indicates an abrupt change in direction within the sentence, but there is no such change here. I usually avoid semicolons in dialogue, so my choice would be to make the example into two sentences with a period after crisis.

“We can’t have a crisis today. My schedule is already full.”

 

 

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Writing Glitches and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Writing Glitch #132

  1. Quintessential Editor says:

    Did you rewritten version not make it into this post? You usually show off how you would do it. I also notice the large white expanse where it would usually be.

    Other than that, your logic and skills are always hitting on all cylinders!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fixed it.

      Thanks for catching that. I’m using a different computer today, and I don’t think WordPress likes the browser: things keep going missing from my posts and comments, and sometimes WordPress thinks I’m my brother (but won’t allow me to comment from MY account — I’ve tried more than five times to reply to your comment on this post).

      At least my editing skills are hitting on all cylinders. The rest of my mental processes, not so much.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Quintessential Editor says:

        WordPress is such a pain sometimes. Especially when it comes to transitioning between platforms.

        It does the same thing to me when I switch from my desktop computer to my laptop. I usually have to clear the computer cookies. Click my picture and select “logout,” then also go to the wordpress.com website and log in from there. If I do all of these things it usually works (as long as I’ve also done the obligatory daily WordPress sacrifices to the internet gods).

        Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

