The SFF Divide: On the Assumed Validity of Science Fiction Over Fantasy

Bibliotropic

Listening to other people talk can teach you a lot.

Not only lately, I’ve been hearing more people talk about women in SFF, examining their role and place, the biases against them, the opinions of them, and so on. My reaction to this varies between, “Nothing new here,” and, “It’s about time more people talked about this,” depending on my mood, but something was recently brought up that tangentially made me think about the views of sci-fi and fantasy as genres themselves, and the perceptions thereof.

In Bronwyn Lovell’s article, Science Fiction’s Women Problem, she says the following:

There is a perceived hierarchy of merit operating in these classifications as well: “hard” sounds masculine and virile, while “soft” connotes a weaker, less potent, feminised form of the genre. This is why “hard” science fiction is more likely to be considered among the “best” science fiction, and why the “soft”…

View original post 1,578 more words

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The SFF Divide: On the Assumed Validity of Science Fiction Over Fantasy

  1. Your thesis statement and supporting arguments are well stated. I especially appreciate what you wrote about “speculative fiction” – I had never before heard or read of this type of writing.
    I am a mathematician so I view all real world phenomena as magic. In my opinion, believing that a limit exists can require as much faith as believing in a unicorn.
    You make a valid point that many commonplace things were at one time considered advanced technology. Why, even cold, hard numbers have been subject to serious religious and philosophical debate. (zero, irrational numbers)
    Thank you so much for sharing this essay.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

