Writing Glitch #175

Today’s glitch:

 glitch189

Nope.

This should begin with either On your sixteenth birthday or At your sixteenth birthday party. On your birthday party is wrong. (Many people say prepositions are the most difficult part of the English language; they’re probably right.)

Also… an ellipsis has three dots, not two. It’s bad enough to end a sentence with an ellipsis when the sentence doesn’t trail off, but if you must do it, do it with real punctuation.

Of course, you already know that a word such as sixteenth should be spelled out, not written with a numeral.

Because the birthday party itself seems relevant to the situation, I’m going with the second option for the beginning of this example:

At your sixteenth birthday party, you hear your mother’s voice in your head. Looking across the room, you see her smile as she silently explains that all women share a psychic connection when they come of age. This secret silent language has been hidden from men for millennia.

(Despite what Mercenary Proofreader’s friend Blue used to say, there is no evidence that psionic — or psychic, if you insist — abilities are gender-linked.)

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Writing Glitches and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Writing Glitch #175

  1. Pssst, Thomas! You changed a . to a , (… your head, Looking across …}

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for catching that. Sometimes I’m paying too much attention to what’s in the original version, word-wise, and I end up copying errors instead of fixing them. (That commas was actually in the ORIGINAL original version, and I changed it when I made the graphic for this post because I didn’t want to deal with too many glitches at once… *sigh*)

      Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

