Writing Glitch #189

Today’s glitch:

glitch212

Don’t use all capital letters for emphasis; use italics.

When a new sentence begins after an ellipsis, capitalize the next word; when it’s still in the same sentence, don’t capitalize.

Use a comma before the conjunction in a compound sentence.

I’d change gotten up to stood up; it’s less vague.

Feeds off and devours are saying pretty much the same thing; unless there’s a reason for the repetition, get rid of one.

I’m treating You poor thing as a direct address, which is why I’ve added you after it. Another option would be to treat poor thing as renaming you — still a direct address — in which case no extra word is needed, just a comma: You, poor thing, won’t even know...

Have you ever stood up and your vision suddenly went black? It’s her. She’s temporarily blinding you… making sure you don’t see her. She’s stealing a memory… She devours them. You poor thing, you won’t even know what you lost, and you won’t even see her coming.

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Writing Glitches and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Writing Glitch #189

  1. When do you use “It’s she.” and when do you use “It’s her.”?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I must have heard you thinking this question, because the same thing was going through my brain yesterday… Technically, “It’s she” is the grammatically correct version, but it sounds (as CMS points out) “pedantic or eccentric to the modern ear.” (Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition, 5.43) Most of the time, it’s better to use the objective pronoun (“It’s her”) instead.

      Like

      • Thanks for verifying that “it’s her” is acceptable; it’s good to know. I am also glad to learn that “it’s she” is the grammatically correct version for those times when I want to be pedantic or eccentric to the modern ear. Thank you for the information.

        Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

