Be careful what you ask for…

This morning, I woke up overhearing a conversation between couple of secondary characters in my brother’s novels, so of course I had to jump out of bed, run into the other room, and try to type what I’d overheard before it faded…

It faded.

I did manage to get enough of it written down that I’ll be able to remember, at least, that it happened. Not that I have any idea what made me think of it in the first place.

Because I’m in a weird mood at the moment, I’ll even tell you the gist of the conversation: Brennen talking with Geoffrey, because a place they’re both quite fond of had recently been… Well, badly damaged is a polite understatement. Basically, there was a world war, followed by terrible plagues, etc., on Geoffrey’s home planet. Don’t ask me why Brennen liked the place. (I could tell you, but then I’d have to make you forget. Not that it would stick, but whatever.) Anyway, Brennen tried to tell Geoffrey about having experienced something similar once, and Geoffrey replied that he already knew about that. Awkward…

If I can find the rest of the conversation again (I know just whom to ask *evil grin*), it’ll probably show up somewhere, in one of my short stories if not in one of the clone’s novels, because sometimes metafiction is fun with dramatic irony outside the story.

(I nearly blathered at a fellow blogger today about why seeing mention of Dune and the Vorkosigan Saga in the same blog post makes me laugh. Yeah… So what I’m saying is, if Jason Grey is in a dark mood and putting cinnamon in his coffee again, we’re not gonna let Jon have any, because that would only encourage Drake to say something pointed.)

Yesterday, I was having a lot of pain in my right leg, and I commented that if it were the left leg, at least the pain would be useful. And he knew exactly what I meant. He replied something about wanting to get back to work on Project Brimstone soon… (Brief explanation: there’s a secondary character in Brimstone who was injured a few years before he entered this story, and now he usually walks with a slight limp due to damage to the muscles of his left leg.) This is probably why my twin bought me a six-pack of Angry Orchard when he was out earlier today. It’ll help me with writing stuff peripheral to Brimstone (like that short story Corey-the-human tried to help me expand — not his fault I haven’t been able to do so yet) if I can, as I said to Paul, “drink something that’ll make Farmboy feel nostalgic.” (Paul doesn’t mind in the least — at least I’m not drinking coffee, right? *Mental note — buy fake coffee before the solstice*)

And… speaking of coffee, I am very disappointed that I missed the launch of the shuttle taking the crew of the Roald Amundsen up to the ship in orbit. The Amundsen is already on its way out of the system, and I didn’t even notice until a couple of days ago! I’m their author (although one of them would use a different word — too bad I don’t know his native language to know what that word is), and they should not do anything this big without informing me when it happens.

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Be careful what you ask for…

  1. J.R. Handley says:

    Sigh, please tell me you have a good shrink…. you keep this up I’m gonna think you’re a writer too!!! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • I AM a writer, too. I just happen to have a “day job” as a freelance editor. And I do have a good shrink. Unfortunately, he’s imaginary. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • J.R. Handley says:

        Mine isn’t, she thinks I’m a nutso! Maybe it’s a good thing she doesn’t read my stuff….. 😉 Just joking by the way, no insult intended!

        Liked by 1 person

        • No, this one really IS imaginary. And not “mine” except that he’s a product of my imagination. Y’see, there’s a secondary character in “that novel” who used to be a psychiatrist, the person whose job it was to keep the mad scientists from going completely bonkers and doing something irrevocably stupid.

          (I blogged a little bit about the last shrink I saw, almost three years ago. Look for the post titled “Sometimes, real life sucks.” I go see someone for help dealing with PTSD, and I end up being told that there’s something sick about reading science fiction and not having any tattoos. *rolls eyes*)

          Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

