The door is that way…

You should probably read this entire post before responding (if you’re so inclined).

I’ve been thinking this for a while, but now I’ve finally decided I need to say something…

If you’re following my blog because you want to sell me a self-help/personal motivation video course, please leave. 

If you’re following my blog because you want to convert me to your religion, please leave.

If you’re following my blog so you can post links to your blog that is totally not relevant to writing, sci-fi/fantasy, cats, or anything else I’ve ever blogged about or commented on anywhere, please leave.

On the other hand…

If you’re following my blog because I occasionally talk about my cats, and you think it’s cool that we both have torties, hang around as long as you like.

If you’re following my blog because it gives you hope for younger generations that there are still people under the age of fifty who listen to Gordon Lightfoot’s music, I’m glad you’re here.

If you’re following my blog because my near-daily outbursts of learn to use a damn comma correctly! entertain you even though you don’t see what the big deal is, you’re welcome.

I know not everyone who actually reads my posts is a writer, or even wants to be one. That’s cool. Not everything I blog about has to do with writing, after all. If you really want to see more cute cat photos, all you have to do is ask! (Alas, I did not get a photo of Doodlecat dressed as Prince Corwin of Amber for Halloween this year… He was totally against the idea. And so was Doodlecat. And yes, friends, that’s a joke. Do you really think I asked his opinion? *shakes head*)

I don’t expect anyone to be interested in every post on this blog, even if they read some of ’em. When my friends blog about topics I’m not interested in (and my range of interests is far, far wider than Teh Expertz say is possible for someone with my “flawed” neurology), I just don’t read those posts. (I also don’t watch friends’ vlogs at all, although I’d like to be able to read transcripts of those videos.) Your adventures in raising chickens? Cool. Playing poker to raise money for kids to build robots. Great idea. Why every writer should concentrate on flash fiction for their first three years before moving on to writing novels? Not interested (and also, you’re wrong, because no one learns how to fly a Cessna by getting really, really good at riding a dirt bike — they’re different skill sets). 

If you have an interest in anything I have to say, that’s great. If you just enjoy having an occasional online conversation with me about various topics, that’s great, too. But if you aren’t interested, why are you here? Go find yourself some corner of the blogosphere that does suit you and whatever you’re into… and stop trying to sell me shit, ‘kay?

blog-divider

UPDATE/CLARIFICATION: I don’t mean, “Don’t reblog my posts.” I like it when someone reblogs one of my posts. There’s a huge difference, though, between reblogging a post (‘I read something cool on this guy’s blog, and I want people who read my blog to see it, too.’) and “commenting” on that post with spam (‘i like what u say now click this link so ur readers buy sunglasses!!!!’).

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The door is that way…

  1. J.R. Handley says:

    So,… I have this self help book… would you wanna? LOL!!

    Serious question, can you pair an ellipsis with a comma?
    Second serious question, why not dogs like civilized folk?
    Last question, would you wanna join my cult? I mean religion? We have cookies!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • “can you pair an ellipsis with a comma?” Not the way you’ve done it in the first sentence of your comment. The comma doesn’t belong there anyway. When using “So” as a conjunction, don’t put a comma AFTER it just because it’s the first word of the sentence and there’s no room for it BEFORE the conjunction. If you want a dramatic pause after “So,” that’s what the ellipsis is for. (Commas have many uses, but a dramatic pause is not one of them.)

      “why not dogs like civilized folk?” I like dogs, but I’m allergic to them, so I don’t have any. I do have one cat who thinks she’s a puppy.

      As for your last question… We have cookies in mine, too: there being nothing to prevent humans from inventing tasty baked goods, such tasty baked goods were invented.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. M. Oniker says:

    I follow you because you use big words and sarcasm. Following you makes me sooooo self-conscious about my grammar, especially comma use (misuse). It’s like this pleasure-pain thing, and we’d best not examine it too closely. 🙂

    Like you, I’ve wondered wtf is the motivation behind some people’s follows. There’s a lot I don’t get about social media.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well I was here for the learning of things and the appreciation of sarcasm. But now all I want is ‘photo of Doodlecat dressed as Prince Corwin of Amber’. Whether for Halloween, Christmas, everyday casual wear, I’m not fussy! Thanks in advance!!

    Liked by 3 people

  4. I follow your blog because I find the grammar corrections extremely helpful, the glitches inspire hilarious pictures in my imagination, and your comments are witty and intelligent.
    I comment on your blog because I am blessed/cursed with sincerity and always try to speak the truth. I also feel that it is courteous to respond to someone who has taken the time and trouble to write something.
    I do not have any sort of video to sell; I don’t know what you mean about linking your blog to other blogs so I am probably not doing it; however, my devotion to my religion might occasionally reveal itself. It is best expressed by Kurt Vonnegut:
    “The language is holy to me, which shows how little I know about holiness. Literature is holy to me, which again shows how little I know about holiness. Our freedom to say or write whatever we please in this country is holy to me.” Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • “I don’t know what you mean about linking your blog to other blogs”

      A while back, someone commented on two of my posts with just ‘Cool post!’ and then a link back to her ‘lifestyle and fashion’ blog. That’s what I mean.

      When people reblog one of my posts because they like what I wrote and want people who follow THEIR blog to see it, too, that’s great. I like it when someone reblogs one of my posts. I don’t like spammers, though, who just “comment” on my blog with links to their own, especially when their blog is in no way relevant to anything I’m talking about.

      Like

  5. Yeah, I want to sell you an idea about cats playing with a deck of cards. They’re all dressed in different colors – green, black and silver – and one has a collar with the Jewel of Judgement hanging from it. Yeah, and they play with shadow. It all falls quickly apart when one tries to walk the Pattern but, being a cat, can’t stay sufficiently focused. Interested?

    Liked by 2 people

  6. M. Oniker says:

    Wait, wut? I missed that the first time. You dressed your cat as Corwin?! Dress him back up and take the pictures, man! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sharon Hart says:

    I am not very proficient with website technology so it took me a while to figure out the linking thing. The truth is I have linked someone’s blog to my blog, but I did it with the blogger’s permission. Please let me assure you that I will always ask your permission to link to your blog.

    P.S. I like cats. They crack me up.

    On Tue, Dec 20, 2016 at 1:48 PM, North of Andover wrote:

    > Thomas Weaver posted: “You should probably read this entire post before > responding (if you’re so inclined). I’ve been thinking this for a while, > but now I’ve finally decided I need to say something… If you’re following > my blog because you want to sell me a self-help/persona” >

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m not talking about reblogging — reblogging is GOOD. (See my reply to your other comment for an explanation of what I mean: people who just post links to their blog in a comment on mine.)

      Like

      • Sharon Hart says:

        Thank you for clarifying. I appreciate it. I hope you have a lovely weekend/weekbeginning.

        On Fri, Dec 23, 2016 at 7:40 PM, North of Andover wrote:

        > Thomas Weaver commented: “I’m not talking about reblogging — reblogging > is GOOD. (See my reply to your other comment for an explanation of what I > mean: people who just post links to their blog in a comment on mine.)” >

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Sheron says:

    So I like cats. My Snowshoe Siamese turn lights on and off and close doors…seriously.

    I need to understand commas better and I like science fiction and fantasy.

    Plus I love the sarcasm and quirky thinking sprinkled throughout your blogs.

    Hate people who are always trying to sell you stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I follow your blog because I think you have an outstanding humor which correlates with mine, and because I realized that I can learn quite a bit by reading your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

