The order of adjectives

Someone asked me for more information about the order in which to write adjectives…

adjective-order

This is why you’d describe the thing on your Aunt Eliza’s head as a weird old purple woolen hat. What about her cardigan, though? Ah, that’s a trick question… Maybe you think it’s a baggy blue French cardigan, but it isn’t: French, in this case, describes the type of blue, not the origin of the garment, so it’s a baggy, French blue cardigan. (You can also say steel-grey Scandinavian modern leather sofa without violating the rule for adjective order: Scandinavian modern is the name of a style of furniture and architecture, and obviously steel tells you what kind of grey the color is.)

(This is what happens when an art teacher becomes a grammar ninja. Scary, isn’t it? 🙂 )

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The order of adjectives

  1. Sharon Hart says:

    This is great! Thanks for sharing.

    On Fri, Dec 23, 2016 at 12:19 AM, North of Andover wrote:

    > Thomas Weaver posted: “Someone asked me for more information about the > order in which to write adjectives… This is why you’d describe the thing > on your Aunt Eliza’s head as a weird old purple woolen hat. What about her > cardigan, though? Ah, that’s a trick question… Maybe” >

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

