Writing Glitch #262

Today’s second glitch:

glitch288

Spell out the numbers instead of using numerals: fourteen, not 14.

Both fourteen-year-old and ninety-year-old are compound adjectives (single adjectives made of more than one word), so they need hyphens.

There’s a comma splice after back together. Change the comma to a period.

A comma is needed after Doing so.

A fourteen-year-old boy wakes up one morning as a ninety-year-old man with amnesia. With no recollection of his life, he slowly begins to piece the memories back together. Doing so, he discovers a dark and terrifying secret from his past.

I’d get rid of With no recollection of his life; saying he has amnesia covers that.

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Writing Glitches and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing Glitch #262

  1. M. Oniker says:

    This is why I have a love-hate relationship with your blog. After reading this, I corrected a couple of hyphenation errors in the post I made today. Any points for getting it mostly right? Sigh. I used to know this stuff, really, I did. Neurons gone rogue.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There’s no reason to be embarrassed about having a normal, healthy brain. I’M supposed to be embarrassed that I remember and understand this sort of thing. Teh Expertz(tm) say there’s something “broken” in my brain and that my thorough grasp of written English is a “splinter skill” with no possible application to real life.

      “Mostly right” is far better than most bloggers do. Trust me — I’ve seen things…

      Like

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

